They say curiosity killed the cat, perhaps that’s true, but never the man!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Dublin
May 22nd 2012
Published: May 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

A life incorporated with travel is like plowing soil every once and again, it brings to surface richer perspectives on ones existence. – Raksha Patel



Author Thomas Friedman could not have spoken truer words when observed the flatness of our world today. I have thus, only recently discovered that crossing things off of my bucket list, when it comes to travel, has always been, in fact, well within reach. A bucket list, as defined by the ultimate dictionary source, Urban Dictionary 😉 is simply a list of things to do before the end of one’s life. I find it hard to imagine doing many of the items on my list in my grey-haired days, so here I am, taking the time for life, and pursuing such opportunities now.

They say curiosity killed the cat, perhaps that’s true, but never the man! Nope. Curiosity, if anything, has reminded the man of how alive he is, and how rewarding the discoveries we stumble upon from such endeavors can be. We are constantly preoccupied with matters of the past and the future, that on average, very little thought must be spent on the present moment. I know this is true, because I am guilty of it myself. While it’s important to prepare for the future 401K’s, college funds…and the list goes on, and important to reflect on our past, taking the to be in the moment is far more rewarding. Travel has a way of doing this; allowing one to focus on the here and now.

As such, I feel fortunate enough to say that for the next two months of my life I will be doing nothing more than immersing myself in the South American culture and everything that this experience has to offer. We hope this glimpse into our experience inspires you take the time for the things that you want to cross off of your ‘list’.

Many thanks to my current employer for allowing me to take this time off. To my parents and sister for your support and providing me the opportunities to see much of the world and to grow from such experiences, and to my brother and one of my travel companions for inspiring me to partake in our backpacking adventure. Lastly, thanks in advance for those joining us along the way for the great times that are yet to come!

As my good friend The North Face would say Never Stop Exploring as my even better friend, The Dos Equis man, would say Stay Thirsty my Friends. We plan on doing both during our travels abroad. Welcome to our blog!

9 weeks, 6 countries, 2 travel companions, 1 heck of a time…………….first stop Quito, Ecuador!!!

Advertisement



27th May 2012

I got a shout out:)
Safe travels guys!! I will keep an eye out on you:)

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.141s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb