Eve of the Great South America Trek...well I like to think so


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Dublin
May 21st 2012
Published: May 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I sit here, on the evening of my departure, sitting in front of this computer, thinking to myself, is this really happening. Six months ago, I realized that this summer would be the last “real” summer I will have in a long, long time. Nine weeks to myself to do anything I pleased. I could have continued my work doing research in the labs, worked in a clinic, or have sat around and do nothing. That last option was out of the question, but the first two are things that I have been doing for a while and felt was time for a break. I thought to myself, what about a backpacking trip. I have been fortunate in my life, many thanks to my parents, to have traveled the world from the Leaning tower of Pisa to the Great Pyramids of Giza, up through India and all the way down to Sydney and numerous places in between. Yet, the last frontier, so to speak, for me, is the vast continent of South America. Rich in culture, people, history, sceneries, and wildlife, it was a place that I have wanted to go for quite some time. Putting that idea with this last summer (probably with the help of a few beers) I came up with the idea of backpacking through South America.







<span> That being said, that idea needed a plan, fellow travelers, but most importantly money. So as not to bore everyone to death, I will let my fellow companions, Parag and my sister Raksha write about their beginnings with this trip and how we became essentially Team Brown Does South America.







Anyways, I made it a point to save as much money as I could by tutoring numerous students and saving where I could and am proud to say that to date, have paid for this trip and budgeted for this trip all by myself, a first for me (Disclaimer-subject to change). A few plane tickets purchased here and there, some awkward passport photo taken, and some rough planning later, I sit here today 8 hours away from departure from SFO to our first destination Quito, Ecuador.







I will try, internet access and soberness pending, to continue to update the blog as much as possible with text and pictures. Before I sign off, I would like to thank my parents and family for everything and inspiring me to always pursue my dreams, all of my friends for always being there ( DVB especially), my roommate and good friend Jordan Gross for helping my plan and prepare for this trip, but most importantly to Parag and Raksha. Without you two, this trip would not be happening and I look forward to spending every, well not every, second with you two on this one in a lifetime experience.







Next Stop…Quito.







Doc Brown out.

Advertisement



22nd May 2012

Walk Hard
UD sunil! I cant wait to hear about your adventures and the crazy stories to come. Safe travels my dood and dont forget to pound brew and lay hat!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb