On the Run: Big Sur Marathon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Big Sur
April 24th 2010
Published: August 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As I rode the bus 4:30 am to the start line of the Big Sur Marathon, I wondered why I am doing this to myself AGAIN. The journey to the Big Sur Marathon was quite long and lonely. Houston marathon ended in January, which gave me a whole 3 months of "unsupported" training. I did as few hill trainings as I possibly could. I dragged every long run on Sat mornings. All these effort just to run at the rugged edge of the western coast.

The challenging 26.2 miles course took us from the majestic redwood at Big Sur through the Pacific ocean view to Carmel. The weather was the best I could ask for. Sunny, breezy wind, not too hot, completely opposite from the previous day.

The climb up to the hurricane point was daunting. But, the scenery was just so breathtaking that I had to slow down and enjoyed every single moment.

I could hear the classic piano music as I was getting closer to the halfway point, Bixby bridge. The music was extremely soothing. The ocean and the coastline continued to seek my attention. It was tranquilizing and yet I was running a marathon! For a few bliss minutes, it almost made my running effortless.

I don't quite remember much about the second half of the course. This was when the mental and physical demand of a marathon kick in. As expected, I started to feel fatigue and hungry around mile 20. This was survival I was trying to fight (consider how little and how inadequate I prepared for this race).

I can't agree more with Bart Yasso, the famous long distant runner. He said, "If we were told that we could run only one marathon in our lifetime, Big Sur would have to be it." This marathon has touched my soul so deeply that I can't quite explain. ]

The problem i face now is to find another race that can top Big Sur Marathon.
Where to run next?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.542s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 16; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0918s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb