Off to Work in New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Bakersfield
September 12th 2013
Published: September 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I haven’t even written about my trip to Toronto and here I am leaving tomorrow for New York. So I’ll try to keep with New York and then write my impressions of Toronto later.

A few days ago I got called to go to New York, on Long Island, to work Hurricane Sandy claims. Mainly, as I understand it, we will be doing reinspections and writing some estimates.

I did not work Hurricane Sandy last fall. I was working in Sacramento and just stayed with that assignment. So now I’m going to get a taste of what some of my co-workers did.

I’ve already packed, pretty unusual for me; usually I’m finishing up as I dash off to the airport. But I’m packed; got a large duffle bag, a large wheeled suitcase, a wheeled carry-on, camera backpack, purse and a tote bag. Each of the large bags is just ounces less than 50#’s. The wheeled carry-on is over 35#.

I strap the wheeled carry-on to the large red bag then pull both large bags while wearing the camera bag, purse and tote bag. Quite a sight I’m sure.

This is an assignment that should be fun at the end. Dale and a couple of granddaughters are planning to come just to have some vacation time. Also I’ll be on the east coast for, hopefully, the changing of the leaves and we have good friends in that area that we get to visit.

So off to a new adventure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.5kb