"Journeys, like artists, are born not made. A thousand differing circumstances contribute to them, few of them willed or determined by the will-whatever we may think"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas
March 26th 2009
Published: March 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Poor Boy TangoPoor Boy TangoPoor Boy Tango

Ron, Kyle, Patrick, Matt, and Chris in order
Little Rock is a very quaint, liberal, artsy community. The bike friendly town has earned it self in the top best places I have traveled to. Evidently people around here like the prospects of hiring persons who are pedal biking across America, or a "foreigner" as some would like to call it. Utah accents are a plus here. I am working on some network-connections to see if I can land a job here and stay for a bit.

Russ and I have moved out of Keith's place and into a couchsurfers home. Adam (our host) is very sincere and positive. I am grateful that we can rest in a home while Russ recovers. I am waking up early and exploring the city when the weather permits. One minute it will be cloudy and cold but within 30 min or so I am sweating beads in the scorching sun. Interesting to say the least.

This morning I came across a band playing a gig for a local TV station:

http://www.myspace.com/poorboytango A very cool band with a "kings of Leon" sound. Raw and Rock. Good stuff!

They have invited me to a party they are throwing this Saturday 40 miles out of town. I am taking a very sincere thought of heading out to join them. Tonight I will see them play a show and hopefully meet up with them there after. Regarding their names: Patrick, Kyle, Matt, Ron, and Chris...was easy enough to remember, seeming that my name is Patrick, my middle name is Kyle, and my brothers name is Matt. Ironic.
This is just another day, another encountering adventure.

"The mind is everything, what you think, you become." - Buddha

When our lives are running on automatic, following the cozy routine of workday weeks and homebody weekends, the pattern of our perceptions also falls into well-worn grooves. We neatly segment time and apportion it to our daily activities. Space collapses into the microcosm of the commute, the neighborhood, or maybe the mall. Our personal geography relegates the immensity of the planet to tiny dots on the far horizon, while we keep the familiar in the foreground. Although the brain receives a constant stream of information about the world from the senses, it detaches itself from the flow of space-time. It then freeze-frames the moment, creating a "state"- a permanent "I" who could be, for example, "a successful manager," a "happily married mother of three," or an "unemployed failure." But in travel, the world seems to expand and maybe, just maybe, so do we.

- The Zen of Travel


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Me towing RussMe towing Russ
Me towing Russ

22 miles of towing russ and his crippled leg...later on it turned into sideways rain...nasty stuff.
chuggin along while I tow Russchuggin along while I tow Russ
chuggin along while I tow Russ

Keep in mind that he couldn't pedal one bit, not that it was bad or anything, but there is quite the difference when I am free of the rope.


Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb