Tucson, San Diego


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tucson
January 8th 2011
Published: January 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On the roadOn the roadOn the road

On our way to San Diego
The trip doesn’t really begin until tomorrow but for me it began somewhere during Thursday night, when I woke up many times with that excited ‘kid like’ feeling in my stomach. Then at work, it was difficult to concentrate….
I haven’t seen Josh in over 3 years and we are meeting Eduardo for the first time. We are so excited. Josh and Eduardo live in Prague. They have been in Mexico City since Christmas, visiting his family. They are supposed to be at our house when we get home from work, around 4 pm.
I baked Dilly bread, Scandinavian cookies and Peanut Butter/chocolate bars for him last night.
Ken and I coordinate our arrival at home, because we want to experience this together. We get home and they are not there yet. A bit disappointed but that gives me a little time to get started on dinner: salad, grilled mahi, roasted potatoes with garlic and olive oil, dilly bread, and Bordeaux wine.
As I’m making the salad, I keep looking out the window to see if they are here yet….candles are lit, music is on, wine is opened.
About 5 pm they pull in the driveway. Ken is already outside; he’s been fiddling outside. I go out the front door. They are already out of the car. Eduardo is standing there; Josh and Ken are embracing and crying, it’s pretty emotional and moving. Tears come to my eyes and then it is my turn to hug him. Then we hug Eduardo. It feels so good!
We go inside; they want to see the house. After the tour, exchange of gifts, we pour some wine and just talk awhile before dinner. Ken and Josh go out to grill the mahi; Eduardo and I talk..he tells me about his family.
We have a nice dinner then sit around for awhile. Then Josh and Eduardo want to go for a walk. I don’t want to go for a walk because of course I am tired, but everyone insists so I change my shoes, put my jacket on.
It’s a beautiful evening, a few clouds, but the stars are bright and the moon is a fingernail hanging low. We chat for a little longer and then we go to bed. I set the alarm for 6:30. I wake up a few times during the night, with that excited feeling again.
When the alarm goes off,
San DiegoSan DiegoSan Diego

at the bar in San Diego
Ken and I chat for awhile before getting up. He says he felt a complete release when he hugged Josh. He and I have missed out on our son’s life for the last 3 years and it will not happen again. He said he has a joy that has been missing. He feels good and ditto for me!
Showers, last minute packing, picking up Uncle and coffee and then we are off to San Diego. We stopped at Burger King for a breakfast sandwich..not so good, Ken gets a whopper, yuck!
Josh and I caught up on his friends from high school. Bella calls us and tells us Lola is being mean to her..reminding her she cannot go on the cruise. I tell Lola to be nice to her sister.
Josh took a turn driving, Uncle sat in the back and Eduardo took a nap. I looked through Josh’s Itouch and wrote down some songs I want.
We got in to San Diego around 2pm, unpacked and then headed down for a drink. We then walked to the Gaslamp District. We stopped at a sports bar, had another drink then walked around to find a place for dinner. Kenny spotted a classic car showroom and we knew Uncle would enjoy seeing all of the classic cars so we went in.
It was a cool, but comfortable night. We decided to eat at BluePointe. We sat outside with a heater. It was pretty expensive; typical in San Diego. Uncle Don does not like places like this; he figures it’s too much money for food. He orders a pot sticker appetizer and would not order a beer. Josh and Eduardo both ordered the trout special and Ken and I split a crab pasta dish…very good. The Pinot Noir was very good. We did get Uncle to drink some our wine; we had extra because if you bought a glass of wine, you could get another one for 10 cents.
I was getting very tired. I forgot to mention that our walk from the hotel was a long walk and now we will walk back. I know, I know, it is good exercise…I’m just not used to it; my foot is still bothering me but the more I use it, the better.
We are almost back to the hotel and Jason called to say he and Lola had arrived. After hugs, parking the car, and unloading, we all went up to our room. Uncle wanted to buy everyone a drink in celebration for all of us being together. I was beginning to feel a bit sick. Too much food and drinks that I am not used to. I stayed back and got my pajamas on. A little while later they brought Lola up to see if she will go to sleep…but she wants her daddy, so I finally called down to the bar at 11pm to tell them to come up to the room so we can go to bed.
It was a fun day and was good for everyone to be together.



Advertisement



12th January 2011

Sooo Wonderful!
Thank you for sharing your blog with us. My heart is so happy for you all. Enjoy every moment of your special time with your family. Love and miss you!
12th January 2011

Together again . . .
Margie & Ken, I am so happy that your family is back together again! Enjoy your trip. God Bless, Virginia
13th January 2011

Oh Margie ... I am so happy for you, Ken, Josh and Eduardo ... you blog post touched my heart and tears to my eyes. I am so happy for all of you! Enjoy your family time together and take lots of pictures too!!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb