back in AZ


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
July 1st 2008
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rotaract ClubRotaract ClubRotaract Club

In Provo (TCI)
Katie checking in for one last blog! Hello All, I hope there are still folks checking out the blog. We all made it back to Arizona last night. It was a long day of traveling (why does it always seem to take longer getting home than getting there?) with us arriving in phoenix around 7pm, our time, last night. We had a great welcoming party! thanks to Marks family for greeting us and welcoming us back with style.
----now to fill you in on our last few days in Turks and Caicos- On saturday we went out with our Hosts for a boat ride to our own private beach (well, there was one other boat there....) it was a beautiful and amazing adventure! followed that night by their Change Over (knew i packed that dress for a reason...). Sunday was spent packing, shopping and a farewell party- where amazing things happened (but I will let Mishay tell you about that!). I could write for a few more hours and still not capture all the events and experiences! Will include some Pics and hope they will help share our experiences!
I wanted to say THANK YOU to all the Rotarians that helped
CavesCavesCaves

In Middle Caicos
make this the wonderful and rich experience it was. To my hosts- Ms Sybil, Tony and Claire, Carlene, Betty and Allistar- I wanted to thank you for opening up your homes and your lives to me. I look forward to keeping in touch with all of you and having a friendship over the years! To all the GSE coordinators- Hazel and Karl, Murray, Richard, Joann and Peter, Mickie, and Jeannie- thank you for setting up homes for us to stay in, vocations for us to participate in, and activities for us to enjoy. You helped make sure we saw the culture and got the most out of our GSE experience. For all of you that drove us around, were our guides, answered our many questions, made sure we had food (and plenty of it), helped us check items off our "lists"-- you are appreciated!! To all the Vocational hosts- thank you for taking the time to sit down and explain how your country addresses its needs, showing us the strengh of your communities, driving us around with you and answering our many, many questions! A great BIG thanks to Rotary (both district 5490 and 7020, Rotary International and Foundation) for
Mudjen HarborMudjen HarborMudjen Harbor

In Middle Caicos
sponsering our GSE team. I hope we represented you well! We often got asked what was the goal of GSE- my response was often to bring the world together with better understanding of each others culture- one person at a time....the experiences i have had, the friendships i have made....you made a believer out of me!
Thank You to my teammates- Mark, Mishay, Wendy and Cynthia! I am very thankful that i was able to share this journey with such genuine people. Your humor, understanding, strengh and courage will forever be in my memories of the GSE experience. It was a gathering of five strangers from different backgrounds and perspectives who somehow, someway just fit together! we all brought something special to the trip! To all my newfound friends---keep in touch!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

My Hosts in Turks and CaicosMy Hosts in Turks and Caicos
My Hosts in Turks and Caicos

Me, Betty and Allistar at Change Over
our own beachour own beach
our own beach

our last weekend, sailing on the ocean to our own beach!!!
Radio InterviewRadio Interview
Radio Interview

In Grand Cayman
TurtlesTurtles
Turtles

Visiting the turtles in Grand Cayman
Bye-Bye Cowboy HatBye-Bye Cowboy Hat
Bye-Bye Cowboy Hat

Right before my hat had a burial at sea in Cayman! Boo-Hoo! I think there is a stingray in the Caribbean sea wearing my hat!
Hosts in NassauHosts in Nassau
Hosts in Nassau

Me, Tony and Claire on Fathers Day in the Bahamas
Host in AbacoHost in Abaco
Host in Abaco

Carlene and I at Farewell dinner in Abaco, Bahamas


2nd July 2008

Back Home
Hi Katie and all; I am happy to see that you all arrived home safe and sound and, I trust, in good health as well. Not that we were happy to see you leave. It truly was a pleasure having you visit our little part of our District (about 1/3 of it). It makes it all worthwhile when we can see and hear that you were truly appreciative of our efforts. I hope that we can keep in touch. Now I look forward to seeing the other "last postings" on this wonderful blog that you set up. Murray GSE Chair District 7020, 2007-08

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb