Friday the 13th...Not an unlucky day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Oro Valley
September 13th 2013
Published: September 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My flight left Atlanta Thursday night 15 minutes late. They also changed gates 3 times, once to a completely different terminal. I surely got my exercise in. Apparently there was a mechanical issue that could not be fixed, so they found another jet but it came in from Europe so we had to go to the International terminal. The delay was for customs to search the plane. As I walked on the jet, it was freezing inside. I got to my row. I have the window seat and a couple was already in the aisle and middle seat. I noticed they both had fresh clean airline blankets (still in the plastic). I thought wow, I would love one. As I got situated in my seat, I saw an extra one next to the man's bag on the floor. Clearly it had probably been on my seat and he is now hoarding blankets! So, I said, "Is that an extra blanket" and he quickly said 'No!' I said, 'oh' with a dose of sarcasm and looked at him straight in the eye. About 10 minutes later, the lady said, 'here you go' and handed me the blanket! I guess my look won out! Later, the flight attendant walked down the aisle offering blankets and the man took another one! Weird airline blanket hoarder! I read and dozed...it was bumpy coming in to Tucson; I like that.

When I arrived, I got my bags and went and got the rental car. Ken was expected to arrive at 9 pm but he was 30 minutes late. He had a connection in Chicago and I guess his plane arrived late from wherever it was coming from. Why don't we fly together? Not because we don't want to 'go down' at the same time if there was an accident. My flights are covered by my company and we pay for his...non-direct flights are cheaper.

By the time we arrive home and chat with Justen a bit, it is around 10:30 pm but my body is saying its 1:30 in Atlanta! I slept in until 8 am and it felt so good. I am having a massage with Annie this morning so I get showered and have my coffee. As I am just about ready to dry my hair the doorbell rings...Annie is here. Once we arrive at 'Rubs' for our massage, we realize we are early..She thought our massages were at 9:30, but they were scheduled for 10. It's fine because it gives us a chance to chat and catch up on life. It's so good to see her. She looks happy and healthy! It's her Birthday today, we are celebrating tomorrow at our house. Our massages are wonderful...we have started opting for the 1 1/2 hr sessions-such a better experience.

Afterwards she takes me home. Ken and I do a little grocery shopping and I take a nap. I was so tired! After I get up, it's time to go through some mail and make a salad for Uncle's tonight. It's Friday night Happy Hour time. We arrive at Uncle Don's and we are happy to see everyone: Annie and Bobbie, Larry and Henna, Uncle Ron (Larry's uncle who just lost his wife to cancer). Annie brought pizza, I brought salad and Henna brought cheese and crackers. It is so good to sit outside and not get bit by bugs and to see the beautiful Arizona sky.

After we get home, I have good intentions to watch a little TV with Ken, but the 3 hour time difference has caught up with me. Goodnight!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1119s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb