Day 11: Grand Canyon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Grand Canyon
July 30th 2011
Published: July 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

We booked an excursion out to the Grand Canyon today - I would advise anybody to go if they ever get the chance, it was absolutely stunning. We went to the west rim which is a bit closer than the south rim and has the Skywalk. This is a glass bottomed bridge which sticks out 70ft at over 4000ft above the bottom of the canyon. Liz is scared of heights so she didn't come out on the bridge but she did get pretty close to the edge! Even for somebody that isn't scared of heights though the glass bridge is quite unnerving. As I first went out and the cliff face just dropped away from me I did feel a little dizzy but as I walked further out I just found it absolutely amazing. The floor is made of panes of glass piled 5 on top of each other, but between each pane of glass there was a little gap so you could really see straight down. From that high up you can even see the birds flying below you. After this we went up to another look out and where there was a ridge sticking out with a hill on top. Walking up the dusty, rocky path in flipflops I think I literally took my life in my hands and I'm quite prone to tripping up anyway and that's really not the sort of place you want to be falling all over the place. The last place we went to was decked out like a real old fashioned wild west town. We met a guy who was teaching people cowboy games and taught we how to shoot a gun (with blanks)! He was a BIG pro-gun guy and kept getting his loaded gun out to show us... we quickly left!

On the way home we went via the Hoover dam. Unfortunately as our trip was only really for the canyon we only got to view the dam from a distance but even from the bridge overlooking the dam we couldn't see all the way to the bottom of the dam. I definitely would recommend an excursion out there specifically to see it is anybody is ever out there.

Nosheen and Liz

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb