Grand Canyon


Advertisement
Published: February 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Grand Canyon


“Baseball, it is said, is only a game. True. And the Grand Canyon is only a hole in Arizona. Not all holes, or games, are created equal.” George F. Wills.

How I would describe this wonder is a simple couple of words - "breath taking". I have seen the wonders of the Pyramids and Ayres Rock (Uluru) but they are truly put to the back after going to the Grand Canyon. What took me is the sheer size of the Canyon (around 277 miles long).

The drive from Vegas to the Grand Canyon via Hoover Dam (disappointing) took around six hours. We stayed in a Native American owned hotel in Tusayan which is about 15 minute drive from the south rim. It was a good hotel and the restaurants in the small town were quite good with a bar that made it a fun night.

You could easily spend your whole holiday here but you can also just spend a day here. The trips that are on offer are great. You can take a plane ride through the canyon itself or donkey ride down to the bottom (great fun). Also if you book ahead then you can go white water rafting down the Colorado river which is fantastic.

One of the best experiences of my whole life. I would say that you have missed out if you never make it to see the greatest wonder in the world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



18th February 2010

Travel Out West!!
I'm actually headed out to finally see the Grand Canyon. I'm almost 30, have lived in the USA my whole life, but have never seen it. I've heard from countless people that it's just indescribable. I can't wait to experience it. Me and my brother are actually doing the classic "go out west roadtrip". This recession is good for travelin!!! Unemployment never felt so good! I never seem to have the discipline to keep a journal so me and my brother made a pact. We were going to keep a blog, we call it a travel guide to the West: http://www.gowesttravelguide.blogspot.com/. But really it's just a blog, somehow "travel guide" seemed more manly. Anyway, enjoyed the post. It's getting me excited for my own trip to the Canyon soon!!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb