Salmon Fishing


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
August 8th 2009
Published: August 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey! I caught Salmon! The first one was a real experience. I got up early on Saturday morning and headed to the bank of the Kenai River. I had on hip waders and my new fly rod. I landed a Sockeye Salmon (Red Salmon). First, my reel fell off the rod. So I pulled the line in by hand. Then, as I was fighting to get the fish in the net, my pole snapped in two. I had the fishing line wrapped around me, trying to hold on to the reel, and a 7 # sockeye in the net. I didn't even try to get out the hook. I just carried everything back to the campsite and untangled it all. We went out on JB's boat that afternoon, but came up dry.
We met JB at the boat at 7 am, Sunday morning. He took us out and I caught 3 Silver Salmon, one was 8 1/2 and the other was 9 #'s. What a great day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



12th August 2009

You look great
Michelle So gald your on this trip and looks like your having a great time.Enjoy Audry

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb