Jasper - Maligne Canyon and Lake


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
July 1st 2007
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

July 1, 2007 This morning CT crawled slowly out of the campground and headed to Maligne Canyon. We got there early and it wasn’t crowded at all. It was a nice walk beside a raging river that sculpted a canyon. I didn’t take many photos because I find it hard to capture what you actually see. I just can’t do it justice. We spent about an hour and a half there and drove on to Maligne Lake. This is the largest and deepest lake in Jasper. It was pretty. It was cloudy and the light doesn’t show the true color of the water.
In the afternoon we went into the town of Jasper and arrived when their Canada Day parade was going down Main St. Unfortunately there was NO WHERE to park so we couldn’t see much. We did see a Bagpipe Band and children dressed like Canadian Mounties. Everyone had Canada flags.
We found a grocery store and I experienced sticker shock; $3 for a can of green beans, $6 for 12 cokes, over $2 for a gallon of water. We just bought the essentials. Wal-Mart, how I miss you!
Then we checked out the Laundromat in town - - $8 to wash and dry a load of clothes. WOW! Had to wait on that. We’ll just open the windows!
We did get lucky (or I did) and got access to the internet in a café as long as we ordered from the menu. That was ok with me! This was the first time we ate out (I forgot we bought a McDonald’s lunch one time) and I enjoyed it. I caught up on the blogs. It was good to see all the comments from the blog readers!
This evening is one of the warmest we’ve had since we moved into the Rocky Mountains. Usually in the mornings it’s in the low 50’s (we need the heat) and moves into the 60’s by the afternoon and there always seems to be wind around. Tonight it was in the high 70’s! One thing I don’t miss is Richmond’s heat and humidity.
I think we are going to stay one more day in Jasper and move on.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



5th July 2007

sticker prices!!!!!!!!!!!
WOW! hope you enjoyed those beans! I am with you on the Stouffers.. Think they put out the closest to home made. The "boys" look pooped! How are you two holding up?? Bet you get tired of riding. Sometimes.. more often than not its very hard to try and capture the true beauty of a scene. I remember when I was young... and the rivers and lakes, AND ocean were absolutely clear, clean and beautiful.. Thanks for keeping me posted,, do enjoy "your" trip.... Lovbe and prayers your way, betty
6th July 2007

Tired Travelers
Randy S told us about your blog and we have enjoyed reading it. The pics are great. As fellow dog people, we were wondering how dog friendly the places you have visited are? I assume your guys don't hike with you but our guys are much larger (and in better shape than us).

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb