TOK, AK


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Tok
June 4th 2006
Published: June 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all.

Last minute switch in plans after the last post. A flip of a coin set us off to Seattle to try to meet a friend. A little more than we wanted to drive; however, we parlayed the extra trip into a nice meal at The Virginian near Pike Place Mkt. and a trip up into the Space Needle. It was pretty cool. The view of Rainier SUPERB!.

Next morning off to the NICE LITTLE ARTSY town of Bellingham, WA. A lot going on there. We were relegated to laundry and stock-up shopping. On the ferry with plenty of time to spare.
Turned out we DID not have to remove the stuff from the top of the truck..... good news.

The ferry was great! I think Dad got a little impatient, but it was cool. Sort of a forced halt to the action. WE got off in Ketchikan, Wrangell and Sitka. I bought a cool screen print by KetchNorman Jackson who is descended from and still does totem carving in. It's called "Balance".... can't wait to show it to the person I balance with the most, my partner and love Meg. Raeann and I hiked out to a petroglyph site in Warangell (and damn near missed the boat)... hard to imagine BEING there... so small, so much ocean. Bought a garnet from a young lady (10 years old) who was taught to cut them from the schist by her now dead father... made me wish I could grab all my kids and hug them a good long time. Talking to her on that place was a profound moment of yearning for those I love and wish to hold close. Sitka was cool only 3 hours. Intersting Russian history. SAid goodbye to one of our "boat-friends" who was of russian heritage. Saw lots of whales (hump and killer) as well as buku birds. We slept well in the solarium. I wouldn't do it any other way. Plenty of space, the beautiful ocean and hills just by opening your eyes!

Lots of folks got off in Junea (at midnite with no place to stay in the rain!) It did rain on the ferry!


OK this is getting long and I want to try to attach some pictures. I'll backtrack to the drive up the Yukon and back into AHHlaska next time. This included my first up close with Griz"!!!

Peace
Scott

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb