Bathed In Ever-Changing Light


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Homer
December 7th 2010
Published: December 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

By Melisse
Nearly 6 months has passed since our last travelblog entry. It hasn't been for lack of travel or anything to report. Perhaps it's been just the opposite; We've had so much going on that our energy has been into doing rather than reflecting and reporting.

As you probably know, we've left nomadic life and settled down, at least for a while. We're now living at the end of the road in Homer, Alaska… a place so fine it well makes up for my aversion to cold weather and my love of warm tropical environs. We do miss our Missouri community immensely, and our California connections as well. But our new life here is amazing and compelling in a huge wealth of ways, both socially and physically! The people here are overwhelmingly warm, welcoming and supportive. After only two months here we've already plugged into the community in a huge variety of ways. Those will be topics for future blog entries.

For now I think I'll avoid overwhelming myself with attempts to fill you in on everything and instead share with you a bit about the majestic beauty that surrounds us every minute of every day here in Homer. This small town is situated along the northern shore of Katchemak Bay. From all locations in and out of town the splendor of the bay, backed by huge jagged peaks and glacier filled valleys fills one's eyes. The light is always changing, making the view a dynamic and interesting one. Our cozy, wonderful, secluded cabin ten miles from town overlooks the bay. Here are some of the many photos I have taken during our first two months her from our front windows.

Welcome back to Recessionista's travel blog. Please let us know if you're tuned in again.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



7th December 2010

Hooray! I've missed your updates. Let us know how the radio show is going, and the jewlery (hint, my neck and earlobes are feeling naked), and the model making...how's Quito? Your Southern California connection
7th December 2010

Great Pictures
Thanks for the pictures - they are truly magical! You should share with people about how they can hear the great DJ who has landed in Homer and plays wonderful music with links to us still stranded in good old Saint Louis!
7th December 2010

love the light
Thnx for the pix, Cath & I spent a few days in Homer < the oral history conference in Anchorage a decade or so ago and loved the town... it was mid-October so the tourists had wandered home and the town reportedly was coming alive in new ways which we enjoyed a bit... met a woman who lived out of town, the daughter of the sculptor Ibram Lassaw [sp?]... who explained how she survived in her little cabin w/ a 13' snow fall the previous winter... usually it wasn't so heavy... are the spruce trees still being whacked by bugs... it is a fascinating town indeed... Stub is jealous of this adventure... hope the bud supply lasts till spring...
7th December 2010

wistful
such wistful shots! always loving the images!
8th December 2010

Spactacular - Glad to hear you're back.
Hi Melisse and Dave - I wondered what had happened to you two and where your travels had taken you. Homer, Alaska it is! So beautiful. I'm looking forward to your next entry. Margaret
8th December 2010

bathed in ever-changing light
Hi Margaret, Thanks so much for writing in. Yep, Homer is awesome. An amazing community and place. Who knows how long we'll be here. Depends on work prospects here and other where. Thanks for staying tuned in.
8th December 2010

Bathed in ever-changing light
Wistful you say. Must be the subtle light. It looks like there's no sun but actually there's a lot of it. It's stays low in the ski and creates long, bright shadows. But the low light is lovely too. Wistful, in that I gaze waaay over there, across the water to the mysterious mountains. Ahhhh, the eyes of the beholder. Thanks for writing in. I appreciate it!
8th December 2010

Bathed in ever-changing light
Thanks for writing in. Yes, Homer is a special place, for sure. It's so wonderful to feel like we're folding into the local fabric like flour into dough. It's nice to be tourist free, but the tourists are a help to the economy. You know the story. There's great !!! oral history here. I've thought about doing a book or movie documenting the most interesting stories of peoples lives here, how they came to be here, how they grew up here, how they live in ways few people in the lower 48 do. Helping each other, practicing kindness and bonding together is a big part of the key.
8th December 2010

Bathed in ever-changing light
Thanks so much for your comment. That's a big compliment coming from you who is such a photo guy. Yes, we'll tell people about DJ Dave. Thanks for the suggestion. AND THANKS FOR LISTENING.
8th December 2010

Bathed in ever-changing light
Thanks for your enthusiastic comment. Radio Dave is humming along. I am sorry to be so slow about sending your necklace and earring. Last weekend was the craft fair so I'll have time now to focus on your stuff. I guess I'll send your necklace first then your earring when I get time to making it. Thanks for your patience. Quito's loving it here. Hugely fuzzy...and thankfully cautious of moose!!!
8th December 2010

speechless
What a pictoral time lapse awesome inspiring and humbling view and life insight! Happy for you guys...xoxo Deb
8th December 2010

Amazing
As Stub said - we loved Homer. I am envious :-) We stayed in a B&B downtown above a bakery which at the time was called Two Sisters. An artist named Asia Freman (I believe) and her husband and child lived there and it was their B&B. They were in the process of building a new home somewhere else in Homer. I thought it was the most beautiful and amazing place - and as you say - the people are fantastic. We felt accepted and integrated a tiny bit after only 2 or 3 days as we visited during the social time of the season before winter set in - lots of poetry, art and music going on! I look forward to more news from Homer. The creative energy must be amazing!
11th December 2010

Amazing
Hi, I just wanted to say that I loved your pictures. I've never actually been to Alaska but I really really want to! I'm having trouble convincing my family to go there for holidays ;-) As I said, really liking the pictures!
24th December 2010

blog
Keep the blogs coming. It was so great to hear you are both doing well and loving it in Alaska. I have retired and enjoying it tremendously although I do miss all my friends at school I am exploring these beautiful United States since while working I could only take a week off at a time. I do so enjoy reading your escapades and I am a little envious. Take care and have a wonderful holiday season. Fondly, Barb

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb