Denali National Park


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Rain, rain, cold and clouds. What a surprisingly beautiful weekend, despite the weather. I'm proud to say this was also a first for me, because I have never gone on a trip like this solo or set up camp solo, plus it was in the rain. After setting up camp it was already 8pm so I decided to go out and get a hot meal at salmon bake, where I ended up meeting some interesting new friends (someone from Spain traveling the world on bike and some smoke jumpers) and listening to some loud live music. Of course the evening of fun ends with my new canon camera being lost or stolen, so I was pretty bummed about that. Me and cameras have not been mixing very well lately.

Then I took the 8am shuttle to the end of Denali Rd, a 12 hour sightseeing extravaganza, mixed with several short naps. Throughout the journey we spotted the major large animal groups (Caribou, Moose, Dall Sheep, Wolf, Fox, and one token Brown Bear). We were pretty fortunate to get to see a wolf, considering there are only 60 in the park. Hope to get a chance to go again on a clear day to see Mt. McKinley.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb