Twin Peaks and The Butte Hikes


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Palmer
July 5th 2011
Published: July 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I've been getting behind! The last couple weekends I hiked Twin Peaks in Eklutna, which was 2,000 ft elevation in 2.5 miles. There was no vis at all and we were completely in the clouds for most of the time. This hike was memorable for me because we ended up covered in inchworms. They were eating the alders along the trail, and if you brushed up alongside them, you were doomed. Hundreds were all over me (hair, clothes, shoes, everywhere)! Last Friday we did a quick hike up the butte after an exhausting week of work, 1,000 ft, one mile, one hour round trip, and it's really close to camp, perfect for a pick-me-up. I'm hoping to start doing this one alot more often with a 6 mile bike ride for fitness. Hoping to look skinnier in each weeks hiking photos 😊

Nearly forgot to mention I had shotgun training last week, I learned to handle the gun comfortably but didn't qualify as a carrier. I did hit the bear target, but didn't hit the 3 continuous shots in the kill zone. Must say I'm not to sad I won't have to carry a gun. We used half power slugs, so my shoulder was fine until I accidently used the full power slugs. Wow! The weapon nearly leaped out of my arm, the force was so unexpected!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb