June 2007- Sweet Home AL(aska)!!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
June 30th 2007
Published: August 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Server Crash
Sorry republishing this old blog, and bothering you all with another email. Travelblog's server crashed and the lost many blog entries. I had to recover the blog and republish it for it to get back on the server.

BIAP and the Parable of the Vineyard Workers
June opened up in tent city at BIAP (Baghdad International AirPort). Our unit had been having trouble getting guys out for leave on time. Some of the guys missed out on seeing relatives because of the delays, so our unit took the first possible chance to get us out of there. That put us at BIAP five days early, so we just hung out in the transient tents on that FOB until our turn to fly out. I almost got caught up on my "Bible in One Year" reading plan. I read for hours at a time. It was great. When I wasn't reading, I was watching movies. Lots of them.

FOB Iskan (my FOB) is a really small FOB (as I have often said). BIAP is a collection of mega-FOBs. There are, I guess, some infantry and other combat troops stationed there; but for the most part, BIAP is primarily
Welcome Back To AKWelcome Back To AKWelcome Back To AK

This guy was behind my house to welcome home. Only in Alaska can you get this kind of hospitality.
support troops. My reaction to the FOB and all the support troops there was, unfortunately, negative. It tough to see soldiers that rarely have to expose themselves to danger and who have far more luxuries and amenities and free time than we do. Honestly, it was pride and jealousy rearing their ugly heads. These "FOBBITS" (as they are derogatorily called) get easy jobs that are safe and receive the same hostile fire pay that I do even though they never see hostile fire. Even the support troops in Kuwait get paid the same! In addition, when they go home they receive the same recognition that we combat troops do. It is definitely a sore point with combat troops.

Seeing all those support troops living it up actually made me want to beat them up - you know like back in elementary school. It was so childish; and upon thinking of it now, I am reminded of a story Jesus once told.

"For the kingdom of heaven is like a landowner who went out early in the morning to hire men to work in his vineyard. He agreed to pay them a denarius for the day and sent them
The Love of My LifeThe Love of My LifeThe Love of My Life

And the Most Beautiful Woman in the World
into his vineyard.
"About the third hour he went out and saw others standing in the marketplace doing nothing. He told them, 'You also go and work in my vineyard, and I will pay you whatever is right.' So they went.
"He went out again about the sixth hour and the ninth hour and did the same thing. About the eleventh hour he went out and found still others standing around. He asked them, 'Why have you been standing here all day long doing nothing?'
" 'Because no one has hired us,' they answered.
"He said to them, 'You also go and work in my vineyard.'
"When evening came, the owner of the vineyard said to his foreman, 'Call the workers and pay them their wages, beginning with the last ones hired and going on to the first.'
"The workers who were hired about the eleventh hour came and each received a denarius. So when those came who were hired first, they expected to receive more. But each one of them also received a denarius. When they received it, they began to grumble against the landowner. 'These men who were hired last worked only one hour,' they said, 'and you
Selah and ISelah and ISelah and I

"Highway to the Danger Zone" was playing in the background.
have made them equal to us who have borne the burden of the work and the heat of the day.'
"But he answered one of them, 'Friend, I am not being unfair to you. Didn't you agree to work for a denarius? Take your pay and go. I want to give the man who was hired last the same as I gave you. Don't I have the right to do what I want with my own money? Or are you envious because I am generous?'
"So the last will be first, and the first will be last." - Matthew 20:1-16

The moral of the story, of which I need to be frequently reminded, is "Do your best work for Christ, and don't compare yourself with others." Furthermore, childish thoughts like the ones I was having, reveal a selfish attitude. To summarize with a cliché, "Ask not what your country (or God or Family or Church, etc.) can do for you. Ask what you can do for you country (et al)."

Or in my own words, "Stop being such a darn cry baby. You wouldn't want their boring job anyway."

More Airports - DFW
After seven days in transit, I found myself touching down at Dallas Fort Worth International Airport. There is a special place in my heart for DFW (not just the airport, the whole metro area). It's the home of God's favorite football team. It's in God's favorite state. Not only that, but as the chartered airliners overflowing with soldiers taxi toward the gate. The are literally showered with appreciation. The airport's fire department set up a water arch under which our plane taxied that salutes the arrival of important politicians, the Dallas cowboys, and, yes, returning troops. I was the second soldier off the plane; and as I exited the jetway, I entered an elevated glassed in hallway. On the floor below me was a host of grateful citizens standing in applause. Being the second guy off the plane I saw there first reactions as we entered the airport. I later found out that the standing ovation can last up to fifteen minutes as the entire plane disembarks. Upon finally clearing customs, there was a receiving line of hoary headed veterans, rosy cheeked grandmas, middle-aged men and their children, college students, and soccer moms. I was comforted to look into the stony eyes of a vet and see that he knew - really knew. The truly humbling part is that our plane was nothing special. DFW and Atlanta are the two port of entry from Iraq. Plane loads of troops arrive at that airport everyday, and I'm sure that no soldier is left wondering what is meant by Texan hospitality.

My dream layover at DFW only gets better. I had tickets with American Airlines, and I beat feet to the ticket counter to get a flight to Anchorage. Once she squared my ticket away, the ticket clerk told me that I could head up to the Admiral's Club to get cleaned up. I was whisked through security and found the club. I just figured they would have a nice, clean restroom where I could was my face. Imagine my surprise when the attendant handed me a key and pointed me to my own private shower room complete with soft, warm towels. That was indubitably the best shower I have had in 8 months.

God Bless Dallas-Fort Worth, for they blessed your weary child that day.

Bitter Sweet
I marveled at the Texas hospitality as I sat down at the complementary computer to
Army Sgt. Bruce E. HornerArmy Sgt. Bruce E. HornerArmy Sgt. Bruce E. Horner

A Really Nice Guy
check my email. My first email was news that a good friend that I met at chapel named Bruce had gotten killed by a sniper right after I left Iskan. I cursed under my breath and got a little teary. The people right next to me barley noticed. Then I looked around at the people in the lounge. Here they were climate controlled and insulated even from the dirty bathrooms and uncomfortable seats in the regular terminal. They had no appreciation of the storm half a world away whose dirty, gritty sand at that moment stung my eyes and pierced my soul. At that moment, I hated all those kind Texans because they didn't hurt too. It wasn't their fault, and my feelings weren't remotely fair. But oh, they were real. The feelings soon faded, I remembered why I love Texans so much, and I boarded my plane to Anchorage.


Surprise in the Terminal
I miss the good old days of air travel when you could meet people at the gate as they exited the airplane. There's just something magical about that moment when a weary passenger exits the jetway at locks eyes with someone that is truly
Jaeden and I at the SwingsJaeden and I at the SwingsJaeden and I at the Swings

She can swing for hours. She just loves it. When I left, she couldn't even swing at all on the "big" swings.
happy to see him. Well, there's no point in living in the past - right? Or is there? Much to my surprise, standing there at them gate when I finally landed in Anchorage. Laura's account of the story is much more interest; but alas, she's a shy writer. She said that, before I arrived, Jaeden (now 3) was jumping up and down at the gate saying, "I'm so excited." When I got there, all I saw was a beautiful little girl that was shy about seeing her father for the first time in eight months. It was a beautiful moment. Selah didn't know what to make of me at first, but she warmed up after a few days. Laura exuded a youthful radiance in a long summer dress. I fell in love with her (again) at first sight.

The Knee
As directed by my doctor back in Iraq, I went to see the orthopedic clinic here in Alaska. They fast track me a cut through all the red tape. I got an appointment in two days, an MRI in four, and got the results back in a week. It turns out that I had been running around Iraq, kicking in doors, and conducting missions with a torn ACL (ligament) and meniscus (cartilage) for two months. Eight days after my first appointment, I had surgery, which went well. I was put on convalescent leave for 30 days, and my return to Iraq was delayed until I get cleared by the surgeon.

Every Silver Lining Has It's Cloud
Recovery has gone well; and I am thrilled that I have this extra time with my family, even though I spent the rest of June on crutches. Well, I didn't actually use the crutches as much as I was supposed to, much to Laura's chagrin. Emotionally it is tough, though. It's a roller coaster. Elation at being reunited with Laura, Jaeden, and Selah. Sadness and detachment at my upcoming return before I found out about the surgery. Then happiness when I learned my time at home was being extended. Satisfaction that the Army was fixing my knee. Guilt that I wasn't going back to my guys when I was supposed to. Frustration when I the doc said I was definitely going to have early arthritis. Confusion about how involved I should get into disciplining my children since I'll only be here temporarily.
Jaeden's Third BirthdayJaeden's Third BirthdayJaeden's Third Birthday

Special thanks to our neighbor, "Box Cake" Frank, for making the birthday cakes.
If you think that's bad, double it; and you'll have an idea of what's going on in Laura's head.

Rear Detachment (Rear D)
Rear D is the portion of a deployed unit that is not deployed, and it fulfills a crucial role for the deployed unit, but everything they do sucks! They deal with dirt bag soldiers that go AWOL, desert their unit, or beat their wives. They take care of soldiers broken in combat. They notify wives that their husbands aren't coming home. They even have to respectfully, solemnly present a folded flag to a "widow" that had the audacity to move her lover into her dead husband's house before his funeral. War is a hateful, ugly animal; and living on it sweaty under belly is a cursed breed of parasites that betray the love and hope of lonely soldiers who are fighting for them. Unfortunately, there are far to many of these selfish parasites. Two of my own soldiers have been abandoned by the ones they loved. I just glad that I will never have to worry about that personally.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Family PortraitFamily Portrait
Family Portrait

Attempt #1
Family PortraitFamily Portrait
Family Portrait

Attempt #2
Family Portrait - We gave up!Family Portrait - We gave up!
Family Portrait - We gave up!

After this one, we gave up. It sure is hard to get those little rugrats to sit still and smile. :)


20th July 2007

Congrats
On making it home safe and sound - I am sure your family is thrilled to have you! Lets catch up soon!
20th July 2007

yay!
We are glad you have been enjoying your time back in the USA. We appreciate you helping to keep our country free and safe. Love from the Gaitonde Family
20th July 2007

Congrats
What a blessing to have you home. We pray that God will bless the time with your family and will guide you.
21st July 2007

I love you son.
---------------------------------------------------------- BIAP and the Parable of the Vineyard Workers ---------------------------------------------------------- That is a hard one. In the end we will all be humbled. He is perfecting in me that which he would have me become. If I have given him the right to control my destiny, then I must expect him to do that and accept that destiny which he brings me. Shall the pot say to the potter, "Why hast thou made me thus?" There is no way to quantify my worry. ------------------------- More Airports - DFW ------------------------- Texas! Hell yeah! Imagine what Jim felt like when he came back from Viet-Nam, in his dress greens and some puke spat upon him in the airport. They arrested Jim after they got him off the guy, but they didn't charge him. When I was in Monterey at the language school I was kicked out of a bar before I could even order. "We don't serve soldiers here!" I was but a REMF. Sadly many of those misinformed people from the 60's and 70's managed to get elected to congress, but they "support" the troops, so don't worry, son they are going to take care of you. ;P Ayup... Both of your grandfathers were political pawns when they served. This is truth and the truth is shameful, isn't it? There are a lot of people in congress and elsewhere in this country who should be ashamed... This is why I didn't want you to go to West Point in spite of your appointment. This country may deserve men like you, but this people does not. Fortunately, your enemy does! Remember that. ---------------- Bitter Sweet ---------------- Sadly we can not tell by looking a person that they "get it". Some get it, others never will and of course those are certain that it is we who do not "get it". I'm sorry that you felt that way but I am proud that you are man enough to speak it. This is the kind of information that the public needs to understand about combat veterans. Son, these people love you and the *reason* that you do what you do is so that they don't have to know why they love you. The sacrifice that you guys make is made so that these people don't have to understand the sacrifice that you guys make. That is why you are all men of honor. Sadly you will never be able to explain it to them either. Why else would a perfectly sane man run 11 miles through the desert barefooted? I find myself so angry some times. It is as if I was cheated some how. I did not get paid for the work I did and I know I did a great job. I took the beating and they took my future. That is the feeling. How can they possibly know what you feel without being in a similar situation? They can't and that is why you do it, so they don't have to understand you. The temptation to *make* them understand; it is just that, a temptation which can never be satisfied. They can never understand. Your enemy can understand, make him. Become an old man, but not a bitter old man. I don't think the planet can handle me being any more bitter than I am... We have been soldiers too long in this line come home safely. ------------------------------ Surprise in the Terminal ------------------------------ Thank God for Laura and the girls. We will stay in touch with them again after you have gone back. If there is *ANYTHING* you want to take back with you, you need to let me know by E-Mail so I can get it and have it shipped.
22nd July 2007

You are awesome and so is your DAD!!!
Dear Tony, I was so excited when I was reading you blog today on my last break at work. I would be so happy to meet with you and you family before you go back. I am off on Sundays and Mondays. I also understand if you do not have the time. On the last letter I mailed out to you I wish I could have put my hand in and took it back out! It was not the most inspiring letter. I was just being honest. I was having a hard day reading the News Paper and receiving some letters. I did go to your blog today. Why? Because it is important to know that you are still alive. That is my fear of one day seeing something bad. It is bad enough when I see the beautiful faces of or Hero’s. It is not that I am afraid of death. I am not!! My heartache and tears are for you and your soldiers as well as for all the family’s members. I feel it. What I like most about your blogs is the complete honesty that you write. Yes, we do sin everyday and thank goodness feeling come and go. I have believed in God almost my whole life. I had a period when thing were very wrong, but I caused that pain. I felt God had left me, so I would leave him too!!! Thank goodness it only lasted a few years. I am ashamed to say that I do not know my bible and wouldn’t know where to find quotes. That my friend has changed since reading your blog. I have picked up my battered Student bible and began to start learning it. The past 7 years I have been a firm believer of our God and I am grateful beyond words. Believing as showing action are two different things though. How can I be of service if I do not know what our Bible says!!!! Hmmm In the past 10 months of mailing packages to our Soldiers my life has changed in a way that I am unable to verbally express in words. I only know I feel in my heart sooooo deeply. Just as you write how you feel resentful about the easier life these FOOBITs have. I also have a huge challenge when I hear people bad mouth all of our Military. I too would just like to choke them and kick their butts just like a schoolgirl LOL. When people tell me I’m nuts for being so involved I want to just slap them and say wake up. Stop it do you understand. But they don’t and besides it is not my place to tell them how they should feel. I turn it around and thank GOD for putting this into my life for I will NEVER be the same because of it J the sad part of this is 1 year ago I too was just like other people. I never watched the news or read the paper. It was easier for me to pretend that people were not dieing everyday for MY FREEDOM. I have to remind myself everyday for what I have and to not be ungrateful and to always ask God to forgive me for my sins. I also try to keep my ears open and listen to his answers. It is amazing how life gets when we just listen and follow direction! Just like what you wrote about Bruce Horner. I too feel enormous anger towards other greedy people who only think about their self and what they are going to buy next. I have to learn to let in all go (I do try everyday) It’s amazing how good you feel when you do not harbor resentments and anger towards people, situations and most of all yourself. I know the more I follow the direction of what God wants for me I will be more than ok. I am so happy that you had knee surgery and able to be home longer with your beautiful wife and children. Yet sad that you must return. I am overwhelmed by you spirit and generosity that you have to help others. I have met a pen pal of mine just this past June J aahhhh what a gift it was to me!! Let me just say thank you so much for what you are doing. No matter what happens God has a plan for us all. Keep up your great words of wisdom. They lift my heart and bring me closer to God everyday. Again thank you and I will continue to pray for you and you soldiers everyday. Be safe and God bless you. Know that you are loved and NOT FORGOTTEN. Hugs, Your Friend Yvette Nissen Don't ask yourself what the world needs, ask yourself what makes you come alive. And then go and do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.....

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb