July 2007 - We're Having a Baby!!! & Back To Iraq


Advertisement
Kuwait's flag
Middle East » Kuwait
July 30th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Laura and MeLaura and MeLaura and Me

I love this shirt on her!
Laura's Pregnant!!! Whoo Hoo!!! Oh and by the way, I'm in Kuwait on my way back to FOB Iskan.

Brief Recap of July:
I spent most of the month on convalescent leave. Normally I would have gotten 14 day of con leave, but since I spent a good chunk or my R&R going to doctor visits, they gave me 30 days off. They wouldn't have had anything that I could do on Rear D anyway. Physical therapy took up about two hours three times a week, so I had plenty of time to spend with the family. We had a good number of nice days in July, so we did spend a lot of time outside grilling, taking walks, and playing in the pool.

Honestly, right now I can't think of anything else that we did; July seemed to just fly by. An exciting day for us would be a trip to Wal-Mart or the commissary (or both if we felt like living on the edge). 😊 It might seem like a really boring month to you, but it was great for me. The down time with my family was exactly what I needed.

Changes
This deployment has
Jaeden and Selah on July 4thJaeden and Selah on July 4thJaeden and Selah on July 4th

Laura made these shirts herself.
changed all of us, especially Jaeden and Selah; so it was a great time to become reacquainted with each other. I think we have all grown, and I especially like the way this challenge has strengthened Laura. Or perhaps it only revealed inner strengths that were there all along. I am the luckiest man in the word to have been blessed with such an awesome wife. I thank God for her!!!

Limbo
By the time my last week rolled around, however, both Laura and I were really ready for me to leave. I know that might sound strange to you, but the perpetual state of living in limbo can be very taxing. It's great to be home, but it hard to be home and know that you have to leave soon. It's happy, but it's also very sad. You can't get into a routine because you'll just be changing it in a few days. I guess the best I can describe it is that it is like going on a long vacation. It might be the best vacation ever, but during those last few days you both hate to for the vacation to end but can't wait to get
Dukes of Hazzard?!?!Dukes of Hazzard?!?!Dukes of Hazzard?!?!

Could Selah be the next Daisy Duke? :)
home. I hope that makes some sense to you because it really doesn't make a lot of sense to me. It's just the way that it was for both of us.

Good Bye
Saying good bye was much easier this time. I know it must sound weird to you, but I found myself thinking, "It's only four months" I guess life is all about perspective. The last night that I put Jaeden to bed was especially hard though. She was really fussy, and I just wished that she could understand that this was my last chance to tuck her in. She came around and we had a good time reading stories and cuddling till she fell asleep. I teared up a bit when she was finally asleep.

God's Will
We've been talking a lot about where God is leading us. We both agree that God seems to have given me a story to tell, and He is leading me to write more - perhaps professionally. That wouldn't be something that I would do full time right away - or maybe ever, but we both feel that is the direction go is leading. In addition, to this we have
Driver's EdDriver's EdDriver's Ed

Jaeden got her first chance to steer the car around the parking lot.
been having some second thoughts about getting out of the military. We feel that there is more good for us to do here, and perhaps getting out would just be us taking the easy way out. Right now, we both think that the Army is the direction that God is leading us; but it's still up in the air. Please pray for us. Pray that God would give us both great wisdom in making this choice and that we would follow His will.

Good News
I don't know anyone who died this month! Praise the Lord.
currently unable to restore. If you have a backup please edit this entry and save/publish

Advertisement



30th July 2007

Congratulations!!!!
Let me be the first to congratulate you and Laura on the new baby, on the way. I am so glad that you will be back home and able to be with her for the last few months of the pregnancy. You are certainly correct when you say you have an awesome wife. A wife who loves the Lord, her children and loves and respects her husband. That is truly awesome and not easy to find in this day and age. We will continue to pray for you and your family. I love you and thank you for protecting my freedoms. God bless you. Grandma
30th July 2007

a man's man
Tony, Susan and I are praying for you, Laura and the family. I was looking for your number last week. We'll keep praying and rooting for you. I was just thinking back to the days of the vulcan drifter - can't believe that was 6 years ago. Anyways, you're life is a testimony for every man as you continue to serve the Lord, provide for your family, and your country. Keep up the good work. You're the ultimate man's man and more importantly, God's man/friend.
30th July 2007

Congratulations
Congrats! What a blessing.
31st July 2007

I HOPE IT IS A GIRL!
Yeah! Get that cut done and give my grand children the right to live without prejudice... - Dad -
31st July 2007

Congrats
Tony: A Great GRAND Son This time sounds good to me: so be it. You got it right about Laura, there was something about her that stole my heart the first time I met her. And, LOL, any lady that can put up with an Erskine has got to be the greatest. When you return it simply is a must for me to come visit, I have not seen you since the wedding but God willing I shall visit with you and yours soon. Sylva and I pray for you guys every night. God Bless and we love you. Grampa
2nd September 2007

Congrats on new family member to be!
Congrats to you and your family. One of my AnySoldier contacts is getting ready to come home in just a few days, hope that will happen soon for you, too. There is always something to be thankful for. Please stay safe, stay well. Kath
7th September 2007

congratulations
congratulations on the news of the baby, that's great! I've been following your blog with great interest since i first stumbled upon it in April. It's just great getting an honest and personal account of the life of a soldier and what's happening in Iraq. I was delighted to hear that the UK troops (i'm from scotland) have been pulled out of Basra, especially at such a difficult time, so I'm hoping you guys will be out soon enough. Best of luck to you mate, take care. James
8th September 2007

Congrats!
Your post is beautiful - your family (GROWING family!) and the relationship you have with your extended family - it's great! I keep you and your troops in my prayers and can't wait until all of you are home again. Thanks for letting us into your life! (an anysoldier cheerleader!)

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb