Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
May 17th 2010
Published: May 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I finally reached Mexico... only for a few days this time.. then back to San Diego to finish working on my web site. The journey into Mexico was very straight forward. I have heard that it is easy walking in that direction across the border but that is an understatement.. it felt just like walking out of a football stadium, through the turnstiles and into the busy streets. The only people who look at you or talk to you are the taxi drivers on the other side. From there I took an ABC coach to Ensenada.
The coach was very clean and comfortable with reclining chairs and video screens showing the movie 'Taken' starring Liam Neeson. I was pleasantly surprised to find that for certain movies you dont need sound... because although it was in Spanish (I dont speak Spanish) it was easy to see and understand what was going on.
At Ensenada I walked for about 15 minutes to the hostel and realised I had left my lovely, lovely new hat on the coach...hmmm ...I obviously didn't need it!
The hostel is called The Backpacker and is very clean and friendly.. I highly recommend it ($18 a night.. on the corner of Floresta ave and Segunda). I have absolutely no interest in towns and cities so there's not a lot I can say about Ensenada. However I did see one or two things that caught my eye down by the waterfront. Firstly, there were loads of seals chillin' on the jetty... just hanging out. I'm not sure why they chose that particular spot but they looked very comfortable. And then I saw the BIGGEST flag I ever seen. Even though it was up about 30 feet in the air it was still enormous. I was later told that this one was small compared to the one they have flapping about down in Mexico city.
The reason why I had come to Ensenada was to go to a Mayan healing workshop. I knew it would all be in Spanish but I thought it would still be worth while going.. and it was. It's very interesting to see the similarities between ancient traditions from different continents.
The next day I went for a long walk along the beach with the manager of the hostel..Gabby. and then spent a few hours exchanging puzzles with a couple of Irish girls who are travelling through Latin America.
Back at the border on my way into the USA ..was a very different experience from entering Mexico. This time I had to que up, show my passport and answer a few subtle questions.
Hmmm... so that was my first taste of Mexico. I'll probably be back again in week or so... for an extended journey.

Happi days
Yinka



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb