More from the Yucatan


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
July 8th 2007
Published: July 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Will have two blogs on this date. One separately of the 4th of July party at Buddy's in Progreso so my new friends there can see their pictures and not have to read my other stuff that I share with y'all.

Not so sure I'll endorse DHL anymore. Remember I had told y'all that I had mailed two boxes (totalling 22 lbs) to myself from Texas to the tune of $339.00 US dollars. The boxes got to Merida before my plane did, but I still haven't gotten them! 9 days now. They are holding them hostage for taxes. Now want $490.00 US more! $4900.00 pesos! The US DHL office is now ignoring me too so I haven't gotten resolution. Will probably have them returned to Beaumont but don't know since states won't answer. Will update y'all when there is a solution. Attorney and I have appointment on Tuesday with Immigration - may have him take me to Customs to find out about the country's Code of Conduct because I feel this is extortion.

Other things now. The 4th of July party in Progreso was great! Next blog has the pics of that party.. Many more than I expected showed up. (No, I didn't organize - or I would have warned Remco. Don't want the folks down here to know that I'm a party organizer! I really like being a partier! ) Managed to sleep well at the hotel regardless of my trepitation of the place. Could it have been relaxed with alcohol???? You think?

Verizon allows me to have my voice mail, etc, in English when I hit US soil, but once I'm back in Mexico........

I found the shoe store AND the bar in Progreso that I have been looking for! So excited! Yep, bought more shoes....

Finally bought a Mexican cell phone. Will help on costs a lot down here. No more international calling from or to me when we're in the same state / country. Supposedly I can text to Texas, but no luck so far. Guy I bought it from at the mall had no English but in reading all the literature, I got everything I asked for (hand signals in lieu of Spanish for the most part!).

My two favorite watering holes here, Le Leyenda and TGI Fridays, were glad to see me after being gone. Le Leyenda's thought I wouldn't return! Hugs from all of them but had to wait for Manuel to show up to translate. Joel at TGIF's speaks English and told me "Welcome Home". Don't think he was worried that I wouldn't come back. He knows how much I love this place.

Going to Progreso today although I usually don't go on Sunday. Need some beach time and relaxing.

Next post will be for the July 4th party. Going to stop and pick up pictures on my way to Progreso.

Throwing in some pics just for the hell of it that I took to finish that last roll. Enjoy!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb