Mexico: Chichen Itzo & Playa del Carmen


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Chichén Itzá
March 15th 2008
Published: March 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a late arrival in Playa del Carmen, I was glad to book a tour to Chichen Itza the next day. Chichen Itza is the famous Mayan ruin city, now one of the new 7 wonders of the world.

Chichen Itza if famous for its big pyramids, and for the Mayan calendar that was found there, which ends on December 21st, 2012. Some say this predicts the date of the end of the world, I guess we will find out soon enough if they are right.. I found Chichen Itza quite impressive, though prefer the Tikal ruins in Guatamala, as they where more remote and overgrown by rainforrest.

The next day I decided to visit a Cenote, which are sinkholes containing groundwater. These are dotted all over the Yucatan peninsula, and in some of these you can go snorkelling. The snorkelling tours take you through dark caves and passageways, which are pretty cool, and the water there is crystal clear provinding perfect visibility. Snorkelling there feels like you're floating through caves!

It was also in Playa where I encountered the scourge of all Backpackers: bedbugs! I'd successfully avoided them throughout South & Central America, but as Murphy's Law has it, they caught up with me in the last hostel I stayed in. Dem Bastards got me good, so hopefully it will have been my last encouter with them on this trip.

And so my time in Central America came to an end on St. Patricks day, which I celebrated by drinking mucho Mexcian Cerveca, and heading to Cancun aiport nursing a mild hangover the next morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb