can't think of a catchy title


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Veracruz
June 5th 2006
Published: June 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So this weekend I went on a two day trip to Veracruz and Xalapa (home of the Jalapeño!). While in Xalapa we visited a museum that has many Olmec heads and other pre-hispanic artifacts. The heads were really interesting and about as tall as I am. While in Veracruz we stayed at a beach front hotel that was quite fancy. I got up at 7:30 Sunday morning and walked on my first real beach! I also touched the ocean! (It was really the Gulf Of Mexico but the way I consider it ocean because it is the same water and I have never been to the ocean so close enough!) Sunday afternoon we went to an old prison/fortress. I probably would have enjoyed it more had it not been 90 degrees with 780% humidity. In order to have toilet paper in the restrooms at the prison you had to give 1 peso to a lady sitting outside of the restrooms. I don't think she was an official employee of the prison/museum. I think this lady wakes up extra early to steal all of the toilet paper out of the stalls so you have no choice but to pay her. I actually had to pay 2 pesos because I didn't have just one and she acted like she didn't want to give me change. A lot of bathrooms in the area don't have toilet paper in the stalls you have to "preorder" before you enter the stall at a dispenser not unlike a paper towel dispenser, always hoping that you will have enough. I have made the mistake twice of forgetting toilet paper but luckily my mexican mom always makes sure that I have a packet of kleenex with me.
I met some nice people from Western Illinois and we ate lunch at a restaurant together in Veracruz. We all had hamburgers and fries.... it doesn't get more gringo than that. The hamburgers were FANTASTIC. I ordered them in Spanish so I still got the Mexican experience. I also had 2 margaritas on Saturday and they were also FANTASTIC. So the score is 1 Corona, 2 Margaritas.

Advertisement



7th June 2006

The Ocean
My first ocean experience was also the Gulf of Mexico. I was in Galvestan, TX. I love the ocean and I felt you should know that.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb