Bull Shark Diving & Life Stories


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
February 4th 2015
Published: February 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

"The problem is not about the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" (Captain Jack Sparrow)

Hola from the sunny shores of Playa...(OK I'd be lying, not so sunny on Weds morning. We had a lot of rain this morning, but hey in 11 days this was the first day of rain). So nananana!

We enjoyed the most beautiful night on Tues. night after a day of just putzing around.

Martha had made an early spaghetti dinner for the kids which hit the right spot for them. It was warm so a walk was in order. Al & I felt like getting out, so we went back to this newly opened French/Mexican cafe that we have now declared THE best rotisserie chicken in Playa. It's owned by Fabio, a guy from Paris who met his wife who's from Mexico in the City of Light. Together they have opened La Brocherie here in Playa which I found on my walk to gather more work info for blogs. (I do love to hear someone else's love story!)

So being a bit hungry, I had stopped there and spoke with the owner and bought a half rotisserie chicken which came with rice, handmade tortillas, and two different salsas and a choice of soda. This by the way I knew was too much food for me and I thought I could bring it home. So there I was in a summer dress, little pair of heels and off I went to a park across from the restaurant to have a picnic by myself, along with a few other tourists taking in the warm beautiful day. Ahhh, so peaceful. So quiet. Just what a "momma" ordered.

I noticed a man sitting alone at a picnic table and he looked in need of a square meal. So I beckoned him over, proceeded to give him half of the chicken on a large napkin I had. He was SO thankful for the food that in that very moment I felt very humbled. Here I was, in my summer dress, hygienically clean and loved by a family back at the condo (and hopefully in other neck of the woods) and here he was all alone & clearly down and out. Hard to be in paradise and seeing this. I do not know his story, and it's rare to see someone homeless or begging in Playa as everyone here tends to be working and doing well. And he was not begging, he was just sitting enjoying the park just like I was. I have never been good at turning my back on someone homeless or in need. "There but for the grace of god, go I."

Nonetheless, he quietly took the food with much thanks, and went to sit back down at this picnic table. It was obvious how much he enjoyed a fresh warm meal. When he was done, I glanced up at him shyly as I did not want him to think I was staring at him, nor taking away any of his dignity. And when our eyes met, he gave me two thumbs up. As I walked by, I put 50 pesos in his hand and he said, "God bless you". God does not need to bless me, I am very well blessed and I know it. Just a really quiet moment shared between two humans beings. I would've liked to have known his story. Everyone has a story, and every one of those stories is unique. I have learned that many people in his situation were heroes in life; war vets, teachers, police officers etc. Then life's circumstances booted them to the curb (whether it was mental illness, physical illness, divorce, loss of a job) and before they knew it, they were homeless in a park. I think it's wise to never be too confident to think that life won't throw you a curve ball that you can't handle.

Later when I took Al back to La Brocerie, and we saw and smelled those glorious golden roasted chickens on the rotisserie, I took a brief moment to tell Al about the man in the park and all Al said was, "That was nice hon". (That is SO Al). Never annoyed or surprised what his wife is up to...

So we got another half BBQ chicken to go with the fixins', and an order of chicken wings and fries. Throw in a duo of chocolate mousse and the total came to around $18. That dessert was to DIE for & a few fingers were almost lost in the melee of forks trying to get a bite. We are so happy we found this place. For those of you here or coming here, it's 15th avenue between 4th & 6th street. I hate to tell anybody about it...soon the lines will be down to the ocean. (And I'm hoping Al is not reading this because Fabio is not too hard on the eyes (and I should know after my new and improved eyesight! Heh heh!)

After we ate, Al went to catch the end of the hockey game at La Tabernacos, but it was packed and of course the Habs were playing. And the Quebecers were out in full force and in full smoke!! Gosh I just can't take cigarette smoke at all anymore since they banned it in bars back home. (Sorry if I offended any of my puffer friends!)

We all fell asleep to the sound of the ocean & it was so pleasant to wake to a heavy rain around 5 am. Although it was overcast when Al left for his dive, by around 11 am it was pouring cats and dogs and I think I even saw a few fish blowing by in the rain. But the beauty of the condo is we can sit outside on our balcony because it has an overhang covering the balcony making it a serene spot all the time.

Mom has loved sitting outside, watching the ocean, the people walking by in the rain (today) on the beach, and just enjoying her solitude. The ocean was angrily slamming against the shore but it was still nice and warm. There were fluffy clouds off in the distance trying to move in to give the tourists something to look forward to.

So it wasn't enough that Al went off for a dive this morning, he had to go off for a second dive at 1 PM for a bull shark diving tour (don't worry, very safe, and experienced divers come here from all over the world to do this). Their guides are seasoned pros. He's never done a bull shark dive before, just one with the gentle giants of the ocean, the whale sharks. Bull sharks tend to be in the Riviera Maya area from Nov. to March. So it was a great opportunity for Al to do this. (PS Al is back and all he could say about his dive was WOW.) As soon as they got to the bottom there was one shark, then several more appeared and swam around and around them, coming within ten feet or less of them. Incredible to watch a shark swim directly towards you, only turning away at the last second. Such impressive, majestic creatures. After half an hour it was time to begin the assent. (Al actually typed this last part himself!)

To be honest the biggest "risk" to any of us is not sharks, it's the wet balcony which is travetine marble, and let me tell you, after the pouring rain if we don't keep it dried, one can take a nasty fall. Don't worry, Captain Sal is at the helm and ensuring all feet must be wiped upon exit of the balcony. That's why they pay me the big bucks... ARRRRRGGGGG (insert pirate sound).

So when the rain let up, I said to Mom, let's go on an adventure. So off we went, window shopping, and then we stopped for a pina colata (no rum for mom) and I had a margarita. We sat there, side by side and chatted away enjoying watching tourists running by when the rain hit again. I felt SO happy to be with her in a tropical paradise and listening to her share her life stories. If I have the gift of gab from kissing the Blarney Stone, I got it honestly from both parents.

After our drink, we were hungry so back we went to our favorite, Titi Panini for lunch. No kids, no husbands, no nothing other than each other's company. It was a really good time to sit and listen to her tell me stories. (A moment to always be treasured).

I know this story but it was nice to hear again. Mom's best friend growing up was Sally Ann. Mom left Noranda Quebec when she was nine and left her best friend behind. She also left behind her favorite doll that had a red cap/outfit that she had gotten from Santa that was in a hand made chest. It was the "end all be all" for mom and her sisters but due to lack of space in their truck, they had to leave it behind. Mom told me that her mother told her years later how very sorry she was that they didn't bring that doll for mom. When you don't have much, something like that is so treasured. (It still brings tears to my eyes when I hear it, thinking of mom as a little girl longing for that doll. And it still is a lasting memory mom has all these decades later...)

Mom said she and her friend Sally Ann would play games exchanging girls and boys names when they were growing up. In particular they exchanged "Bobby" and "Bill" names with Mom never knowing that those two names would end up being her brother's name (Bobby) and her son's name (Bill). Both ofwhom passed away much before their time but it still is not lost on mom how very ironic it was as a 9 year old using those particular names of males she would love forever.

Mom ended up moving to North Onslow Quebec and was one of the "women" of the Steele Line. And mom worked from an early age like a male hired hand, without pay or glory. She could drive a tractor like the best of them. If you were a lady of the Steele Line, your back was made of steel literally. Those were tough times; there was no time to worry about hair or makeup or trivial "crap". Mom was country "when country wasn't cool" (remember that old song") Anyhow, the Steele Line is almost unrecognizable to me with so many people that have passed away or for that matter moved away. But as long as Mom is around to tell the stories of her life there, well she's got a listener. Oh & the stories mom could tell you about those years...she really should write a book. I'd be first in line to buy it.

As for the fondness of the name Sally Ann...Well Dad had an aunt Sally who he was especially fond of (his mom & aunt would sit side-by-side quilting and singing songs together). Then given mom's childhood friend was Sally Ann, well I guess there was no big decision at to what my name would be. (Although Salvation Army/Sally Ann was not too attractive to me as a kid).

Well it was overall a beautiful day spent with you Mom despite the cloudy skies! You are the best mom I could have ordered up, and you came with a big shiny bow of kindness, understanding and an optimism that many wish they had. Oh and I know you read these blogs, because you are my mom and you have to, right? Oh and we will squeak out "one more trip" girl...

Love Sally Ann.

*So back to keeping order in the condo and the floors dry from the rain...

Closing the laptop from the land of tequila, limes, chocolate, vanilla, honey, avocados, and lots more stuff!

Sal and the "Supremes" (with you "Mom" are the ultimate Supreme!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb