Three Weeks in Cozumel


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cozumel
December 21st 2012
Published: December 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

We can't believe that three weeks has already gone by, one more week marks the half way point of our trip. Ian went scuba diving this morning and took a refresher course since it has been almost 20 years since he got his scuba ticket, that was back when he was living in Hawaii. He had a great time, he says it was the most fun thing he has done since we got here. Cozumel has the Number 1 reef for scuba diving in all of North America, which is one of the main draws to attract the tourists here, that besides the great weather, beautiful beaches, wonderful food and friendly people. The reefs stretch pretty much along the West Coast and we are lucky that part of it is right across the street. He is looking forward to more diving and seeing more of the reefs. I know what you're thinking, that scuba can be dangerous, but don't worry, he's going with a certified and experienced dive master who supervises the dives.

We've been doing tons of good eating and loads of walking, but our condo doesn't have a gym, and its too warm in the condo to start working out to my video. To be honest, I haven't been working out like I usually do at home. So today I started to swim some laps in the pool. Only did 10 to start, but it's really a great way to exercise and something I will try to add in to our daily routine.

After lunch we walk dowtown to shop at Super Mega. Things in the store are looking very festive, notice that the whole pig in the Festive Meats picture is even decorated. It's hard to believe we are so close to Christmas with all this hot weather, somehow it doesn't feel like Christmas to us yet. I've never been away from home for Christmas before, so I have decided to cook a traditional Canadian turkey dinner in Mexico which may surprize you. Ian picked out the bird, 11 pounds, which was pretty much the smallest whole frozen turkey we could find. He also found some Ocean Spray cranberry sauce in a can, I couldn't believe it, I was looking everywhere for that, but had only found some cranberry sauce in a jar in the imported food section that didn't look exactly right. There were only 2 cans, so I felt lucky to have one of them, cranberry sauce is such an important part of the dinner. Now all we are all set except for the vegetables which we will buy on the 24th.

I hadn't intended to purchase any decorations but I broke down since they were on sale 75% off and bought a tiny little Christmas tree decoration. So this, along with my Christmas cup from Jim will be the extent of our festive decorations for the season.

Today is Dec 21, 2012, the day which the Mayans had predicted to be 'the end of the world', apparently there are groups of scientists and astrologers here set up on the East Shore doing studies, but I thought I would let everyone know that we're still here! And by the way, we're not even worried!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb