Family Reunion


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Querétaro
June 1st 2007
Published: June 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Cuernavaca FamilyCuernavaca FamilyCuernavaca Family

Celia, me, Lety
Two weeks ago I had the coolest family reunion ever. First, my Dad came down to Mexico to visit me. We spent Thursday night in Cuernavaca and he got to meet my host mom, Celia, and her sister Lety. These are two of the most amazing women I have ever met. They are both divorced, with children who are grown and out of the house, and live together in a beautiful house in Cuernavaca. They rent the extra rooms out students, both Mexican and foreign, and have anywhere from four to eight students at a time. They are both beautiful women, inside and out. They are so happy, so full of life and adventure. I aspire to be like them when I'm their age. I think they made quite an impression on my Dad too. It was really funny, in an awkward kind of way, that they both told me my Dad is 'muy guapo' (handsome) and told me to ask him if he wanted a Mexican girlfriend, to which I responded 'I can't ask my Dad that!!'. Thursday night they showed us all around Cuernavaca, pointing out different points of interest and telling us facts and stories about them.
Mis hermanosMis hermanosMis hermanos

Pedro, me, Adrián, Tomás (above)


On Friday morning we left for Querétaro, which is the town I lived in during a study abroad four years ago. On the way we met up with my friend Jessamyn, whose living in Mexico City right now, and the three of us went together. It was so exciting to see the family I stayed with again, and to have Jessamyn and my Dad meet them. I had such an amazing time there and grew so close to my 'brothers', and I have talked about them often since returning to the US. We spent most of the day Friday walking around downtown with my youngest brother Adrián, and then Friday night we went to this amazing performance which was kind of a combination between a play and a walking tour. They had actors dressed up like figures from the city's history and we would walk from place to place where they would each tell a story or legend about Querétaro. It was very interesting. On Saturday we went to a small pueblo called Tequisquiapan, where they were having their annual wine and cheese festival. I tried all kinds of delicious wines and cheeses, and I also discovered that there
Hotel HidalgoHotel HidalgoHotel Hidalgo

The hotel we stayed at in Querétaro
is some truth to the whole idea of drinking alcohol to get rid of a hangover. Who knew?

On Sunday we returned to Mexico City and hung out Sunday night in the neighborhood of Coyoacán, which has sort of a hippie vibe to it, but all kinds of people go down there to have dinner, walk around and window-shop. Monday we went to the Zócalo, which is Mexico City's main square, and saw the Diego Rivera murals in the government palace. Unfortunately, I didn't realize that all the museums and pretty much everything government-owned is closed on Mondays, so we couldn't see much else. Although we did find some cool ruins in the metro station!

It was so great to have the members of both my families together, getting to know each other and each getting to experience the culture of where I come from and the culture that I have come to identify with so strongly. I think my Dad can now understand why I love doing what I do, and my Mexican family can now understand where I come from and how I have grown into the person that I am now. ¡Qué chido!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

hotel vistahotel vista
hotel vista

The view from the balcony of our hotel room in Querétaro
friendsfriends
friends

Jessamyn, Roy, me
downtown Querétarodowntown Querétaro
downtown Querétaro

Adrián, me, Dad, Jessamyn
Los ArcosLos Arcos
Los Arcos

Querétaro is famous for this large aqueduct
dancingdancing
dancing

My favorite part of the Mexican culture... (the food is a very close second)
wine and cheese festivalwine and cheese festival
wine and cheese festival

in Tequisquiapan
catedral de Tequiscatedral de Tequis
catedral de Tequis

Tequisquiapan´s cathedral


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb