Classes have begun!


Advertisement
Published: June 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The cityThe cityThe city

The city of Queretaro!
Yesterday was my first day of classes and I an really excited about this semester! My first class of the day is a class on Spanish Literature which I know is going to be a little bit of a struggle for me. The readings that we have to do in this class are really hard, but I know that I can do well. My second class of the day is the history of Latin America and the Caribbean. History really isn't my favorite subject, but our professor is really nice and is willing to help us with anything and answer any of our questions. As the days progress, I can feel my Spanish getting better which I am really excited about. The first couple of days in Mexico were a little difficult because it was hard for me to listen to what they were saying, understand it, and then produce a response. Its getting easier though, and I don't have to think as much about what I am going to say when I am having a conversation with someone. My host mom says that it would be easier for me during conversations if I would think in Spanish. I tried it and it was hard, but I know that if I keep working on it it will become second nature for me.

This past week has been really hard getting used to the culture, making new friends, and getting to know my new family. I am really glad that I have my roommate Misty here with me. She helps keep my mind on other things so that I don't always think about how homesick I am getting already. She herself is getting really homesick because she had to leave her husband and two daughters to come here for the summer. I know that even though it is really hard for me right now to be away from my family and friends, I know that this is an experience that I'll probably only get to experience once in my lifetime.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb