My first week in Queretaro


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

It has been almost a week since I have arrived here in Queretaro, and so far it has been an interesting experience. On our first full day here in the city we had orientation for the university that we are attending : Monterrey Tec. They talked about our classes, some cultural differences that we might notice, and some general safety tips. The city of Queretaro itself, not the state, has about one million inhabitants, and is about four times the size of Lincoln.
My host family is great, and so is my roommate! My host parents are probably in their mid sixties, their names are Socorro and Javier and they are some of the nicest people that I have ever met. Our host mom cooks all of our meals, and has them ready for us whenever we are hungry, and she also cleans our room for us everyday! We also have a maid that comes and helps clean the house twice a week. It took a little getting used to at first, but I kind of like it now. Don't worry mom....I won't expect you to make me a hot breakfast and clean my room for me everyday! 😊
Over the weekend, me and my roommate Misty went to what we would call the downtown area to hang out and look at some of the historical sites. We saw some beautiful cathedrals, museums, parks, and people everywhere! Our first stop was a lookout where we could see the city all around us, it was beautiful! There, we also went to the historical site were the founding father of the city of Queretaro was buried. There are many more historical sites that I hope I will get to see before my time here in Queretaro is up.
Overall, my time here so far has been fun and interesting. It is going to take me a while to get used to all of the cultural differences, but its a learning experience.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb