Escapism


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Puerto Escondido
March 15th 2005
Published: March 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Bikinis rockBikinis rockBikinis rock

I don't know what ya heard about me...
Yeah, that seems like a good title for a journal entry... We all want to escape from something, sometimes...

I didn't make it to Pie de la Cuesta, but I did escape from the Tourist Strip of Lovely Acapulco. I went surfing! Anja and Barry and I got a collectivo ride out of town, about half an hour to the south. After a bit of negotiating, he found a chubby kid who'd rent us his board for the day, and I went surfing. The other two are beginners, but have a crucial couple of weeks behind them. I just wanted to get comfortable being in the waves, nevermind riding them. There'll be more writing about surfing in the near future, I'm sure of it.

So I, and me bruddah Matt done got a ride out of Acapulco yesterday. Barry the Irishman and Ooormet of Estonia be on their way all the way to Costa Rica...Hoe Lee Man!
Gotta get me one of those around the world tickets one day.
Yeah, they bought Susie, their car, for 600 US somewhere in California. Mexican cops, especially in el DF, were giving them a lot of trouble for the American plates on it. Sounded like it was just a cash grab from the supposed gringos. There's a little trick that worked fine yesterday: hang a rosary on your rearview mirror, and expensive fines are a thing of the past...thanks Jesus!

Out of Acapulco, into Puerto Escondido, si. Es tranquilo, es bien aqui. Finally, a place to hang la hamaca I've been carrying around. It'll take a little getting used to, but sleeping outside is all kinds of great. I hadn't seen a sunrise in weeks, but got to watch the sky pinken in hazy half sleep this morning, roll into my sandals, stumble into a cigarette, chug some water, find a real coffee, and there's a whole day ahead!

Escapism? Need I return to that topic? sure...uh,
um,

just take it easy, yeah? adios!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb