Oaxaca with Donzetta


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
April 20th 2012
Published: April 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

El Mercado Organico de XochilmilcoEl Mercado Organico de XochilmilcoEl Mercado Organico de Xochilmilco

This is the organic market in th courtyard of St. Thomas Church. It is a smaller market with tables and benchs and plenty of shade so it is an ideal place to meet and talk.
Last weekend I went to the Mercado de Xochomilco which is held in the courtyard of The Iglesia de San Tomas (St. Thomas Church) where I visited with several persons from Los Estados Unidos (USA) and brought organic vegetables. I was there from about 10 am to 2 pm. It was the first time that I had met African Americans in Oaxaca, one lady is an author who has lived there for 25 years and another gentleman is from Seattle who, with his wife, travels 9 months out of the year and goes back home for 3 month...very interesting!

I met another family from the USA and one lady from there, who did not want her picture included, but visited with me for a long time. All in all, it was a very pleasant and unexpected adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Un Puesto de Verduras OrganicasUn Puesto de Verduras Organicas
Un Puesto de Verduras Organicas

This is an organic vegetable stand and in the background is the proprietor of the organic vegetable stand next to this one.
Un Puesto de Las AguasUn Puesto de Las Aguas
Un Puesto de Las Aguas

This is a stand of flavored waters, very popular here in Mexico. The couple were very happy to have their photo taken. In the background in the next stand is a lady who is selling organic beauty products
Los Musicos en la PlazaLos Musicos en la Plaza
Los Musicos en la Plaza

Here are a couple of guys playing in the courtyard where the mercado is. They usually come and play and pass the "basket" and people donate as they wish...Lovely!
Un Puesto de la ComidaUn Puesto de la Comida
Un Puesto de la Comida

This is a very popular food stand. It is Italian and Chinese, with an Mexican twist. I chose to eat a plato (dish) here and it was muy sabrosa!
Una Artista en MexicoUna Artista en Mexico
Una Artista en Mexico

This is the writer that I mentioned. She is originally from Chicago, has lived in Grenada and now lives with her husband in Oaxaca. She gave me her book "Hard Rain Shards which is a comment on the environment...very good!
Los Viajeros de InviernoLos Viajeros de Invierno
Los Viajeros de Invierno

This is the couple from Seattle who travel 9 months out of the year. They spend the summer months at home...Es un gran vida!
Precioso!!Precioso!!
Precioso!!

This is a little one with his father after the child's baptism in the church. He was so cute and the father was so proud. I could't resist taking a photo. I love the children and the caring fathers.
Una Familia HispanaUna Familia Hispana
Una Familia Hispana

This is an hispanic family that graciously gave me permission to take their photo for my blog and graciously offered to take a photo of me and Maria..mi new amiga.
Una Familia AmericanaUna Familia Americana
Una Familia Americana

This is a family from the U.S. (except the young man). The mother and father are visiting their daughter who lives here with her partner, who is from Mexico City. She teaches in a small Pueblo outside of Oaxaca. The father is a physician and the mother a nurse practioner.
Mi Nueva AmigaMi Nueva Amiga
Mi Nueva Amiga

This is my new friend, Maria, who joined me at the table and visited with me. Before I left she invited me to her home...muy amable!


23rd April 2012

Donzetta,
Your blog is wonderful. I love the pictures and the comments about each person. What a blessing you are having. Just a note: I have now purchased a New Truck and a used Travel Trailer. I have 10 weeks to learn to use them properly before I start on my new phase of my life. Just want you to know your an inspiration to me. Sandra
23rd April 2012

How Great!
Sandra, I am so glad to hear that you are in the process of getting ready to make your move. I do want to hear more from you and you progress. Buena Suerte mi amiga!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb