Playa Maruata


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
July 11th 2007
Published: July 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This week has been crazy for me. I have so much I should be doing right now but I feel like a slacker for not posting in such a long time. Plus I want to share with everyone what an amazing weekend I had in Mauata. The beach we decided to visit is a virgin beach, meaning it has not been developed or comercialized at all. There are no hotels, just cabañas and hammocks to rent for the night. We spent the days swimming the ocean, flosting like mermaids and body surfing. The food that we ate was cooked by families in thier houses that also served as restaurants. Mostly only seafood, so I ate rice and beans. But when one of my buddies ordered an extra plate of shrimp, we saw one of the children of the house go out with a bucket to the beach to buy (or catch) the shrimp fresh! At night the boys made a bonfire and we roasted marshmallows. The sky was so clear that we could see the milky way and millions of glimmering stars. The first night on the beach we noticed that the water was glowing. Looking closer we saw that there were phosphorecent diatoms floating everywhere! Anytime we stepped in wet sand or any time the waves crashed it light up like stars. It was so magical, like the heavens had dropped stars down onto the beach for us. WOW! After that I slept in a hammock outside our canaña with domestic pigs and chickens running underneath me. The second night we made another fire and watched an outrageous thunder and lightening storm rage over the ocean. I came back from the trip tanned and so relaxed and happy. Schmoo loved the beach, he got sunburnt, but I guess thats because you can´t put sunscreen on a monkey. In answer to your question, Heather, Schmoo is my family´s sock monkey who takes trips with us around the world. He´s a very cultured monkey and we hope to make a travel book with him as the guide someday. Now I am writing essays again and getting ready for midterms next week. I plan on staying in Morelia this weekend, maybe taking a day trip out to Patzcuaro (a smaller indigenous town) and studying for exams. I miss everyone so much. I also miss italian food and being able to flush toilet paper down the toilet (darn colonial plumbing). Love to all. Be well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



12th July 2007

Just when I was about to ask if those books were getting used... you mention midterms. Good luck! I'm totally enjoying your Blog.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb