69 is a sex position 68 is a song


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
November 23rd 2010
Published: November 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

So here I was in Guadalajara, Mexico. Hot, very very hot but I was surprised of how relaxed the town was. There are about 4 million people living here, but still it is all very easy going. You can just sit on the side of the road with your map wide open, flipping through your dictionary or looking with big eyes at everything new and noone would care. I remember living in South Africa, if you would do anything like that in Cape Town you were in deep shit. I dont know what I had expected, maybe dusty roads or people in the back of crappy car like things pulled by horses. Nothing of that, instead, Hummers, Mercs, beamers, some guys longboarding down the street. I decided to be a real tourist and booked a tour with
the Tapatio TouriBus. Payed half price coz they accepted my new zealand student card, choice! I decided to not take the head phones but fully emerge myself into the spanish tour guide experience. Bad joice, I didnt understand a word and after hours on the bus my head hurt. I dont think that it was spanish, constantly listening to all the information in any language would have given me a headache. While the other tourist took pictures of all the churches and appearantly important places, though this was a bit hard to figure out, because the recorded voice never shut up, I was searching for some graffiti. The last day I spent in Vancouver I ran into a street art photographer who told me about the colourful paintings in mexico and sitting in the two story TouriBus does help a lot scanning the area. Taking the taxi to the
central bus station some day after also proved very helpful. In any case there is so much graffiti in Mexico, mainly freestyle ranging from throwups to very elaborate wild style and murals.
But it was not all graffiti, I did hop out in Taqueplaque and had a look at a shop selling aztec relicts and a lot of other stuff, like old photographs, crosses of all sizes and really old sewing machines. The backyard was full of more and very pretty. At some point the owner came to talk to me but I had no clue what he was going on about, so I went back to the bus, hopped in and drove back to the hostel.
I had planned to leave Guadalajara the next day but instead met up with some friends of a friend back in Vancouver. That was a great idea, they wrote lots and lots of helpful phrases into my little note book, how to tell a taxi driver where to go, how to compliment a girl and finally some catchy mexican hook-up lines. I was introduced to all the fresa places, paying too much for corona, but happy to have found some new friends.
The next day I took a bus to Colima. Buses in Mexico are awesome, they have huge seats (which is a big plus when you are about 6'4" tall), you get something to eat (pretty much some nuts and a sandwhich which always has ham on it, being a vegetarian, that means eating around it while the meaty taste lingers on the cheese and the butter....uah) a nice cool drink and you can watch television. In my case harry potter and some boring movie. I tuned out, put my headphones on and listened to anima sounds hit single '68 until I woke up in Colima.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb