Cocaine and prostitutes


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Colima » Colima
November 30th 2010
Published: November 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have been in Colima for almost 2 weeks now. Why you will ask, you have probably never known that
this town even existed (it is about a three hour bus drive west of Guadalajara) and very well off
any kind of tourist track. I think I havent seen any tourist since I arrived here. So it is not very surprising
that everyone stares at the tall red-skinned dude. "Are you always so red" is probablyt the question I have heard to most. Hell yes, I am white dude (not a gringo!) that gets too much sun, call me Taki fuego por favor, just like the very hot chips 😊.
Orginially I thought about going to Oaxaca to learn spanish for a week but instead I stayed here,
my good friend Lee is teaching me and I can spent all morning at her grandparents restaurant. It is more
like entering a normal house, you stand right in the living room and can see her mom cook the best food
you can ask for, quesadillias, tacos, flautas, agua fresca etc etc. I love mexican food and slowly get used
to spicyness. The amount of refreshing non alcoholic drinks is amazing, agua fresca is made with rice or oats,
water and spices, Tuba is a sort of palm seed beverage that you can get with or without fruits but always
with peanuts, then there is Tejuino a salty sour sweet waterbased drink, I couldnt tell you what is in there.

You can buy all these on the street. Food is very cheap here anyways, my favorite place is Don Comalon, you
buy a beer (indio is good) or ponche (make sure you ask for ponche and not pinche (that is "fuck" in spanish,
I made this mistake....not good) which will cost you about 38 pesos and all the food you can eat for free.
Addtionally they have banda playing or a marriachi will play for you. I spend my days between la casa de abuelos and at home learning spanish. Last week I ran into the international student crowd (they are still here) and am not short in going to parties. At the moment I am living of about 300 pesos (30$ mas or menos) a day. I am very lucky coz I have free accomodation at a friend of a friend.
I blow most of my money on going out for dinner, it is very hard to resist when a full blown meal is less than 60 pesos and the rest goes for cocain and prostitutes. Just kidding, beer and taxi rides to parties is more likely or a day trip to manzanillo to bake in the sun for some hours and watch gringas in budweiser bikinis and fake tan walking by.

Unfortunately, all night clubs are closed because of a drive by shooting some months ago. Additionally, the theatre was closed last week following the assassination of the former governor of Colima. Appearantly, he was gunned down in front of his house. Writing it like this might give you the wrong impression, this not Cuidad Juarez. We are far away from the north and the gun fights. I did not have one negative experience since I have been here. I feel absolutely safe, even when I walk down the street at 2am in the morning, drunk, looking for a taxi.I think people's perception is always a bit wild. Truth is that the majority of people at any given place in the world are nice and normal who go to work and want the their kids to get a good
education. In short to be happy. The majority does not run around thinking lets kill s tourist in the afternoon
before we watch soccer or mug some people because we can. That is the small percentage of assholes you see inn the news when you switch on the Tv and everything is horrible. booho.

The only annoying thing here is my inability to speak spanish and crossing streets because pedestrians
seem to be invisible here, so be careful when you cross the street. Cars wont stop for you.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb