Jalisco


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
June 4th 2009
Published: June 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This blog will include the following cities. Tequila, Guanajuato, Michoacan, Aguascalientes, and Zacatecas

I lived in Guadalajara in a semester abroad program. I was living in the area of Los Arcos and la Minerva.

My first night in the city was memorable and was a harsh introduction to the country. I decided to come in a day early and stay at a hostel in the city. I made friends with a few Mexican guys that were hanging out in the hostel they were watching a soccer game and were drinking beer and tequila. One was the friend of the guy that ran the reception the other his brother, the owner (a 'man' of about 20) and his girl friend Flaca. After a few drinks at the hostel we headed out. We went to a nearby bar/salsa club and then another bar. With out much time the social differnences between the guys became evident as the two brothers couldnt afford the obligatory cerveza. I could see that they felt ashamed and I offered to buy the beer. They tried to play it cool. Anyhow as the night ended i returned to the brothers house. It was poor. Ther differnece between what was outside and inside was hard to tell. They showed me the saw that they used to make windows for 'rich' people. The one guy nearly cried as he showed me he was obviously filled with shame. The funny thing is that I thought it was cool. They had there own place, and were making their own way. Something that I was yet to do. One of the two brothers spoke excellent English the other sowed me a painting he had done which was evidence that they were both very intelligent. Any how it was a very frusterating experience for me because I felt that they felt bad because I was there. I told them I didnt care but it was no use there was no e



Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb