Jeollanam-do


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollanam-do
May 19th 2009
Published: May 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This was my first break from school and I decided to get as far away as possible by bus. I went with my workmate Chris. We spent the first night in Wando where there was a yearly celebration going on. This little island is the home of famous golfer KL Choi and admiral Jang Pogo. The later, an admiral from the Silla Dynasty who secured the yellow sea and managed a trading route between Japan and China in the late 800’s, was the reason for the celebration. This celebration involved a drama on a fake ship and fireworks. Followed by what was a rather unusual performance late at night involving a group of transvestites playing traditional music while selling panty hose at a discounted price. The group also featured a midget on giant-sized traditional drums.
The morning after the celebrations I jogged up to Seattleesk space needle that has a 360 degree view of the surrounding islands. We then caught a bus to Shinji Island where we went on an amazing hike past abandoned buildings and an older couple astray picking herbs and berries. We crossed a burial ground and made our way back to the beach where we camped. The
Transvestite in WandoTransvestite in WandoTransvestite in Wando

This man tied a flesh toned ball under his sk irt for flasing the audience
next morning, Chris returned to Busan with a hangover and I set out looking for a maritime route to Yulpo. I hitched a ride to the other side of the island hoping to follow take a ferry to another island and hop on north. The charts were incorrect and the port was not active. I then adjusted my plans making for a more inland route. Only catching one ferry but 3 buses 4 buses I made my way to the Yulpo where I soaked in a green tea bath that over looked the ocean a watched the sun set beneath the surrounding mountains.
I then followed my impulse captured images of this wonderful little fishing village. The tough lives’ of the older people in town was evident more in their glassy eyes then their storm-harden outfits. The men moved heavy loads of sea faring equipment while the women harvested tea. The housing was simple and traditional was all connected via alleys littered with fishing line and buoys. The energy here was inanimate as is the sea and sun had washed away any pervious vigor. I left Yulpo and headed to the nearby green tea plantation of Boseong. This place was
KJ ChoiKJ ChoiKJ Choi

The center of attraction in Wando
in great contrast to Yuplo and was bright and green and filled with visitors from Seoul and Busan enjoying their long weekend away. I hiked/ran through the fields and experienced what I could before returning to Busan.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

ShinjiShinji
Shinji

Beautiful
YulpoYulpo
Yulpo

Old meets New
YuploYuplo
Yuplo

Old and New
YulpoYulpo
Yulpo

The New


Tot: 0.333s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb