ANGRY!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
March 16th 2009
Published: March 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yes the title of today's blog is ANGRY! because that's exactly how I'm feeling right now for several reasons!

Firstly I'm angry because I just looked in the news and saw that 4 tourists have been blown up in Yemen. I'm angry that I missed the reunion at college this weekend and with Asbjorn for keeping guard over the house all weekend!
I'm angry with the people who keep appearing at the Hogar, bringing balls and toys for the kids (appreciated for five minutes and then disguarded or thrown over the roof) take some nice pictures of themselves 'helping the kids' and then leaving again after half an hour! How are they helping these kids? These kids are hardly kids at all, they wont remember them in a week's time, nor their toys. The balls will be taken away from them because they always end up hurting someone or just causing trouble with them but the nice happy photos will live on! You cant help these kids in half an hour! If you want to help, come visit every couple of weeks, make yourself a permanant fixture so that you can get to know them even a tiny bit! Play with them, teach them something dont just give them a lollypop and say goodbye feeling all good about yourself! All you've accomplished is to make them hyperactive so they wont behave for the rest of the day! Donate some clothes or even money - something to help the Hogar as a whole so all of the kids can benefit in a more permanant way by having better living conditions! I dont mean to sound so cynical about it but seriously...how much are the massive groups of students who appear for two hours every now and then actually helping!! Theyre only here because they have to do some 'community service' to actually pass their course!! They're only sitting there pretending to help with homework to pose for a photo before they start playing with them again and then the homework never gets done! Dont give them lollypops with gum in the middle of them right before they're about to have lunch! Dont walk around in pairs and threes being to scared to actually go and HELP the one kid who's sitting there on his own cos he actually wants to get his homework finished!!!

I'm angry because I miss home and I miss college and just being able to go and speak to whoever I want to! I'm angry because I want to be able to have a normal conversation with people my own age who already know me and know what I'm like! I'm angry because I want to be able to have a conversation at a normal speed instead of one that takes 10 times as long because I dont understand what someone's asking me and I dont know how to respond in a decent amount of time!

I'm angry because yesterday I had a really good day out with Alix in a really nice park but I forgot to charge my camera so dont have any pictures and also because the one question the Mayora asked about the park was '¿Oh wasn't it full of drug addicts?'!!!! No! Actually it was full of families with little children who had come to see the butterfly dome and the big tent thing you could go in that had loads of macaws and things in!!!

I'm even angry that I'm glad that it's a three day weekend so the kids arent coming back until tuesday morning!! I want to like spending time with the kids and playing with them but all my time is just spent shouting at them and telling them what to do and making them hate me which is just brilliant fun!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb