Loving the Children!!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
March 5th 2009
Published: March 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!!! As Tom just pointed out to me it's been over a week since my last blog entry and apparently that's shocking so here we go with another one!!
Firstly I want to thank everyone for their responses to my last entry! It's really nice to hear other peoples points of view, and it definitely helps to keep Alix and me sane if we know we're not the only people in the world who think that some things just aren't right!!
We managed to pluck up the courage on Saturday night to tell the Mayora that we are not religious, and although rather awkward, it seemed to go down not TOO badly although she seemed a little disappointed...it did however mean that we didnt have to go to church again on Sunday!! woot!

SO what have I been up to this week? WELL it's definitely been a week of ups and downs! We have proved that tiredness leads to high emotions which eventually leads to pissed-offness, anger, and hitting children with whatever you happen to have in your hand!!! Luckily I havent happened to have been holding any bricks or heavy metal objects!!! Yesterday however after a particularly bad morning of frustration, an hour of watching one girl drying the dishes (which we have to do again tonight), and being left alone with the kids while the other staff went off to do goodness knows what somewhere else...I managed to lose my temper completely with one girl and hit her on the head with the bag of UNO cards I had in my hand! Unfortunately the bag was closed very tight as I'd been winding it around in my frustration so it therefore split open sending UNO cards EVERYWHERE!!! AT which point I got scared of myself and decided it would be a good idea to leave - which I did! What's even more unfortunate is that it turns out that it's the poor girl's birthday today!!! OOPS!!! Weeeeell at least now the kids know that if they púsh us too far then we really can lose our temper! Although to be fair, the bag breaking really did make the incident look a lot worse than it was...and the kids still want to play UNO as much as ever!!!

Today has been almost as much fun as yesterday, although I havent been in such a bad mood, but i've had a couple of rather interesting incidents!

Number one - I come out of the dining hall this morning where I had been helping some kids with their homework. I walk over to where the bins are and there sit three girls (the annoying moany ones) around a cardboard box. As soon as the girls saw me coming over they got up and started to walk away...looking rather suspicious methinks! So I ask them what they've got in the box ...'oh nothing!'. So I look in the box, expecting to find a bird that cant fly or something like that but no....fire! They've set fire to a bunch of paper inside a cardboard box with matches that they stole from the kitchen. Not only that but they're sitting right next to the bus that they use to take the children to school each day. And they were just gonna leave an open flame burning practically underneath the petrol tank!!! Smart one there children!! I made them fetch a bucket of water to put it out, took the matches off them after searching their pockets, and made them put the boxes in the bin. I havent punished them for the incident yet, but I think tomorrow Alix and I are going to have fun making them clean the bathrooms etc on their own!!! Fun Fun Fun!!!

Number 2 - So we're upstairs in the girls corridor (just me and the girls) and they're supposed to be getting changed ready to go to school. The last couple of days they've been taking AAAAGES to get ready and they're always late. They always spend ages in the bathroom wetting their hair and putting it up, so, like Tuesday, I decided to close the bathroom so that they wouldnt be able to do that, and they'd be ready quicker. So a couple of the girls they wanted to brush their teeth, I said no as they weren't allowed in the bathroom. A few minutes later I go into one of the bedrooms and a girl scambles off her bed which, for some reason is pulled away from the door....I then notice another girl with a toothbrush in her mouth (the one I'd said no to before) so I'm thinking right what's she gonna do now? She's got a mouth full of toothpaste what is she gonna do with it? She didnt even try to hide what she was doing no...she just spat it out in the middle of the bedroom floor, right in front of me!!!
Kids can be so disgusting!!! After they all went downstairs I checked and sure enough, behind that bed there was a load more spit, and also in one of the other bedrooms!!! YUUUUCK!!!

On the plus side however (!!!) I've found myself a good stick (made of bamboo which is cracked so makes a really good sound when you hit their bums with it!!) and we've been invited to go to the theatre on Saturday with some random people who happened to be here for some reason and asked us if we wanted to go!! Alix and I are rather looking forward to doing something different with some different people although the Mayores have threatened to come too!!! He he he!!

ANyways I'm off to call Megan now!
Much love to everyone, looking forward to hearing from you soon
xxxx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1006s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb