A Pachucan Weekend.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Hidalgo » Pachuca
September 4th 2006
Published: September 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I haven't had a weekend in like five years. I, of course, mean that in the most positive of sense. Nearly everyday for the past five years, has been what regular people would consider a weekend. Sure, I had class, obligations, etcetera... but for the most part I could get drunk every night. But for the first time since, high school, I felt like my monday through friday warranted an actual weekend... that is, something to look forward to.

On the friday of my first weekend back in the game (being a member of mainstream society, ie. holding a job.) I went to a concert. We saw this band called Babasonicos, they are from Argentina. It's an uncommon occurrence for a band with such (partial) fame to come to Pachuca. I think its equivalent to The Strokes playing at a country club in Modesto, California. (Incidentally, The Strokes played in Mexico City on Friday.) We waited in a long line to get into the show... but when we entered the venue (it looked like a banquet hall for a hotel) it was only half full (I'm an optimist.) There were several openers, including a band that proclaimed that it played a new rock, which uses the most important elements of electronica. They clearly believe 'suck' to be an element of electronica, and have very little understanding of new. Granted they started playing in 2001, when that Linkin Park bullshit was new.

I saw a guy wearing a Coachella shirt, so I talked to him. It turns out he is a journalist, filmmaker, and general Pachuca hipster. Possibly one of the most important people I could have met. He introduced us to a DJ on the local university radio station. He said that you don't have to be a student to have a show, so I may try to get one someday. (But don't hold me to it.)

At the show I did a lot of promoting for my new band: Los Extrangueros. (Extranjero = Foreigner, Guero = Whitey, Los Extrangueros = a new rock, which uses the most important elements of electronica, with an intentionally ironic 'suck' factor.

Photographers from two different local magazines, took pictures of us, we gave them the name of our band. In like three weeks we will be local celebrities, in a month and a half, we should be famous through out Mexico...

The Babasonicos were pretty good, though they did not sound like The Flaming Lips, as I had previously thought they did. I drank a lot of beer, and danced around all silly-like.

After the show, I asked people to give us rides home, using the technique of ultra-gringofying my spanish.

It reads like this:

Per-mee-so, so-mos, extran... how do you say??... jeros, no te-nay-mos, un ride, pue-de-s dar-nos, un ride?

I think I was using correct Spanish, but I just tried to sound like a hella white person.

It worked, this girl gave us a ride home.

I spent all day Saturday, composing reggaeton, and eating unhealthy sandwiches.

It turns out reggaeton is in 3/4 time, and that's why it's hard to make with iDrum (it only makes beats in 4/4.) After a while I figured it out, I made like three songs... I need to work on the lyrics... but they will probably sound like our first song:

GUAYABERA LAPTOP, NO QUEREMOS PARTY STOP.

The unhealthy sandwich in question, may go into the pantheon of the most unhealthy things I have ever eaten (fried chicken/gravy omelette at Roscoe's, deep-fried twinkies, a cup of wasabi.)

Tortilandia's Cubana Especial, consists of: ham, american cheese, oaxacan cheese, hot dog, chorizo, chicken, avocado, an egg, beans, milanesa de res (think country fried-steak), and mayonaise. I should have complimented it with a diet coke.

On Saturday night we made a party. That's what people who don't speak English as their first language call having a party.

We had tacos, booze, and decorations... there are lots of people walking around Pachuca selling decorations for independence day on September 16th... (der don't they know independence day is july fourth.) Several teachers from the American school showed up. My roommate's boyfriend made us all these drinks... including a moped (half a shot of tequila, half a shot of sprite, shaken up and pounded.)
Highights of the party:

nobody showed up until 11.

somebody through a glass bottle onto our balcony from the street, the culprit still hasn't been found, no damage was done to the property, but unfortunately the glass bottle broke upon contact.

the lights went out, so zach and the principal of the rival school tried to fix the breakers, but instead got electrocuted... then they stole the breakers from another apartment... no word on exactly what went down.

as a gift we were given an independence day decoration, which is equally the most awesome/racist depiction of Mexican culture, since Espeedy Gonzalez.

it was a chile pepper, with a sleazy moustache, wearing a sombrero, in one hand holding a mexican flag (nationalism), and in the other a bottle of tequila (alcoholism.) Amazing.

The best part about partying in Mexico, is that even if your party ends at 2am, you can still go to the bars.

We went to a bar that wouldn't let Zach in, because he was wearing orange tennis shoes. I told the bouncer they were $3,000 Dolce and Gabbana shoes... he still wouldn't let us in, so we went to the bar next door, a minute later we came back outside (because it was suck), and the bouncer let us into the exclusive dress-shoes only club, for some reason (yet to be determined.)

The bar was awful, I mean it looked great, but the music was terrible, the drinks were overpriced, and the crowd was pushing forty-five. I had fun though.

The next morning I woke up in a bed that wasn't my own... which is always a good thing.

When I got home, I ate day-old tacos, we still don't have a refrigerator (not that I would have put them in the fridge anyway.) At 2:30 me and Zach went to a cafe, that serves eight dollar salads for five dollars... they also have free internet. Chikita Cafe on Revolucion, check it out, we'll be there.

I bought a classy Yves Saint Laurent shirt, normally 700 pesos, now only 200 pesos... great deal. We ran into our roommate, and her boyfriend, saw a full rainbow, and ate at a restaurant called 100% Natural. They have plastic drink cups that talk about the wonders of reducing, reusing, recycling, which is mind-tickling concept for a country that lacks the resources to recycle the cup with such eco-friendly claims written on it.

Today is Monday, I started teaching my course on humor studies... It has been a productive day, because I haven't checked lostpedia.com even once. Today is also my birthday.

Send me an e-card.

-Joshua Heller

Advertisement



12th September 2006

i have the babasonicos cd...aw.
30th September 2006

hi
Hi!! I read your journal, I used to live in Pachuca like 2 years ago. But I ad to move to Monterrey because of my dads job. I was born in Pachuca and I loved the way you described it. Is a cool city, a litle boring of course but I really miss my town. Of course I love Babasonicos, everybody does. I hope you enjoy the town (well, city). By the way, September 16 is OUR independence day, you should get more infrmation about our country history. (That was a joke) Bye.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb