Pachuca


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Hidalgo » Pachuca
August 25th 2006
Published: August 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, I have hot water, a cell phone, and a copy of the keys to my house.

My life is nearly complete... I still need a refridgerator, a book on how to teach English, a better towel, a Mexican or Canadian girlfriend, and a map of Pachuca.

If you have any of these things, please send them to me:


Joshua Heller
c/o Liceo Anglo Frances

Blvd Luis Donaldo Colosio s/n
Fracc. Arboledas de San Javier

Pachuca, Hidalgo
42080, Mexico

This week has been good. The school gives very little structure, which sometimes makes it hard to teach things like adverbs, but it also means I can teach whatever I want.

I am teaching the kids who actually speak English, basically an American Studies course I took on personal narratives. I think I will also do units on Hip Hop and Comedy.

Last night we went to a bar inside an old colonial mansion. It was well-decorated... especially the air-brushed paintings of Elvis, Marylin Monroe, and Richard Gere's face painted onto James Dean's body.

Last night was a party for the Nutrition department of the university. It was the first time that we saw people our age, there were a lot of them...

My plan for the future, titled How to Get to Know People My Age in Pachuca, is to get very drunk off of a cheap bottle of rum, and then be loud (but not obnoxious.) Then people will remember the crazy white person... and will in the future, buy me drinks, let me into bars without a cover, and/or have sex with me.

This harks back to GK26, Carnaval en Gualeguaychu, Argentina... When instead of chanting "No a las Papeleras" (New paper factories to be built along the river) to the tune of "Seven Nation Army" I chanted "No a las Papas Fritas", because they aren't good for your health.

The next day dozens of people recognized me as that loud norteamericano (in a good way.)

Last week I did meet Americans.

You can tell who is an American by the way they dress. So I yelled EXTRANJEROS! They got scared, thinking they were about to engage in a fight to kick out foreigners. But then I said that I was one too... and things calmed down. (Only three people were injured.) One of them was the principal of the school, she said that she was still looking for FOUR teachers. If you are interested send me an email: joshuaheller@gmail.com.

Afterwards we went to the Denny's of Mexico, Vips. Much like Denny's, it's overpriced, unfilling, and not particularly tasty. I asked for a club sandwich, it didn't have bread, so I sent it back. It wasn't supposed to have bread, so they brought it back. It was supposed to have tomatoes, so I sent it back. They brought it back on the same plate. I ate it, it was cold, and didn't fill me up. I was very disappointed, but I asked to talk to the manager.

"I don't mean to be an asshole American, but I was disappointed with the food, I don't think I'll come back."

"Do you want free flan?"

"Yes, can you give him one too."

So he brought us free flan... and despite the fact that I didn't want dessert and was still hungry... I got something for free... and that made my day.

We are going to DF tonight... If I don't update my blog for a while, it is because I have been kidnapped. It is my hope that if I do get kidnapped, they will take me to Colombia, so that I can write a travel blog from there, and fill in another country on the world map, associated with this website.

PAZ AFUERA.
Joshua

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.3kb