¿Mèxico?


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Hidalgo » Pachuca
August 21st 2006
Published: August 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I used the esoteric characters in the heading to prove to you that I am in fact, in Mexico.

We got here Saturday afternoon. It takes less time to fly to DF from LA than it does to fly to NYC, or Dubai for that matter.

We got to the airport, where we met the director of the school, or actually where we were supposed to meet the director of the school. He wasn´t there. I like to think it´s because he wanted to teach us a lesson in self-reliance, rather than an error in translation (my bad).

My Aunt Lauren, met us at the airport, she lives in DF, she helped us catch a bus to Pachuca. The ride to Pachuca is about an hour and fifteen minutes, or about the amount of time it takes to get to the beginning of the third act of School of Rock (subitulado en español).

When we arrived Joaquin, the director, and his wife picked us up. They took us to their house, and then out to dinner at El Carbonicito... one of the best taquerias in town. Carne Asada, Al Pastor, bomb. Tacos Mexico on Van Nuys Blvd thinks it's the shit with $.85 (USD) tacos, well El Carboncito on Revolucìon has $.40 (USD) tacos... a breakthrough in my love for tacos.

The first night we stayed at a four star hotel in the town plaza. We tried to go to Bar La Esquina... but if you wear shorts you can´t get in. So I took off my shorts, but for some reason I still, I was not allowed in.

We found a bar with a less stringent policy (I put my shorts back on) and a sixties rock band, with dudes who were actually rocking in the sixties. $1.50 (USD) Coronas... you should go to countries where the imported beer that you drink at home is a domestic. (It´s called economics son).

On Sunday, Joaquin moved us in to our new apartment. I was very impressed by it. Three bedrooms, two baths, lots of windows, large beds (AKA beds slightly bigger than what I am used to.) I got the big room, it lacks a balcony, but the room is huge.

We are very centrally located, between the downtown plaza, and the Sanborns... we are walkable to a lot of places, though not to the school... it´s like a two dollar cab ride.

We started school this morning at seven... so we woke up at six, to shower and shave (something I am not used to). The shower didn´t work, so I just shaved... I don´t even smell that bad... but I look so damn respectable... clean shaven, nice shirt, handsome smile. Brilliant.

I taught my first class, it turned out they all spoke English, so basically my work is done for the year (holla!) I had them write about what there was to do in Pachuca, which kills two birds with one stone. The first bird being, getting them to do work, the second bird is finding out what there is to do here.

I visited Pachuca seven years ago... and it has grown pretty sizeably in that time. The amount of KFC´s in my estimate has tripled. There are plenty of Wal-Mart-owned industries, and a new shopping center. This is all perfect for my extreme dedication to consumer capitalism.

The city is walkable like Còrdoba, and boring like Davis... so it appears that the pastimes here are similar to both of those places: Eating and Drinking... both of which I am not necessarily opposed to.

I think that this will be a good year.

PAZ AFUERA, HELLER

BTW they sell cigarettes in the cafeteria to the students, beat that US schools.

Advertisement



24th August 2006

im going to pseudo stalk you while at work...speak with those extranjeros for me...
25th August 2006

mexico
i heard a bullfight dynamite song on HBO, i would like to thank duraflame logs and thom yorke, otherwise josh heller would not have been born henceforth I would be a one woman band. i was pleased with your first messico entry. if you remember anything about south america that i must do please tell me. thank you kindly. see you in the future.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb