Kayaking on Coyuca Lagoon . . .


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guerrero » Acapulco
January 9th 2010
Published: January 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The holiday season has officially passed. My co-director has gone home and I am on my own in the club. The number of youth onboard has gone down and we are now in “quiet” season. But considering that, I am so busy right now!

While don’t have a large number of teens onboard, those who are participating in my program are there non-stop. There is always a group of them in the club, doing every activity. Of course, this is the way we want the program to run, so this is great. But I am so worn out! Adding to this, I’ve decided to apply to graduate school. The application is extensive and the deadline is soon, so anytime I haven’t been working, I’ve been working on the application. Busy days are followed by late nights.

Today we’re in Acapulco, and it’s the first chance I’ll have to be off the ship after 5 solid days on being onboard working 11-plus hour days. I was seriously looking forward to sleeping in and then lots of internet time to work on my application.

But the teens this week are all about everything I offer, so I had a teen tour instead.

For the tour, we headed back to Coyuca Lagoon, where I went on Christmas Eve with the teens. But instead of speed boating around the lagoon, this time we went kayaking. When we reached the lagoon, the tour group was divided into two. We were the second group to go out, so we had time to hang out by the pool at the restaurant. The teens were right in there, going down the waterslide, playing games with each other. When they discovered that my camera was waterproof, that only added to the fun they could have.

Then it was our turn to go out on the kayaks. Three of the girls who work in the spa had a day off and had gotten passes on the tour. It turned out that our kayaking group consisted of me, the teens and the girls from the spa. So it was pretty laid back and fun. I paired up with Becky, one of the spa girls. The sun was gorgeous, anytime I’m out in it, I’m reminded that at least I have this good reason to be working where I am. The lagoon and the scenery around it is beautiful. While I’m not a pro kayaker, we managed quite well for ourselves.

After kayaking, we had lunch in the restaurant at the edge of the lagoon. Good food, gorgeous view. And then it was time to board the bus again and head back to the ship.

While it wasn’t what I’d had in mind for the day, it was still really great. The teens I have are lots of fun. The weather and surroundings were beautiful. Good day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Shoulder DiveShoulder Dive
Shoulder Dive

The teens concluded it looks like K's head is exploding.


Tot: 0.371s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 33; qc: 135; dbt: 0.1687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb