The Catch Up Game….


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
October 11th 2007
Published: October 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Teatro JuarezTeatro JuarezTeatro Juarez

This is where I will go see the Modern Dance company of Beijing, as well as a major meeting spot for all the local students here!!



Well this is obviously my new trend to be delayed on my blog.

So let me see…. I’ve covered Mexico City.

Well after Mexico City just another passing week accept for one big thing. We had a big 80s party. It was great tons of people came and everybody dressed up. As seen in the picture we did 80s with a nice twist!! School thus far has been going well, the work is picking up but the learning/teaching style here is very different then that at school. The change is nice.

My Spanish is improving, but I still get nervous sometimes when I speak but once I get into the groove it flows a lot better. I have noticed that my comprehension level is near perfect now, YAY!!! I have been taking salsa lessons amongst other things, and i'm starting to be at least pretty decent. Besides for being like the tallest girl out there life goes on lol.

We had another excursion to Zacatecas and honestly it was very similar to GTO. There were lots of mines and that trip was very relaxed. It was very different from the trip to Mexico City in that there was not as much crammed in.

Cervantino has officially started (Wednesday, October 3rd to be exact), and now entering into our 2nd week I can see the city starting to change. For those who don’t know, Cervantino is a very big International Arts Festival. Every year there is an invited country, and this year it is China. The city is filled to capacity with people from all over the world (Yes China too, and even Australia). I have been able to see a lot of free events and went to an exhibit of photos of all the past Cervantinos. This Friday I have a ticket to see the “Tanghetto” which is electronic tango music with an orchestra. It is in an open-air amphitheatre and it should be a lot of fun. The following Friday I will be going with my friend Pollo (word for Chicken in Spanish) to see the National Modern Dance Company of Beijing in the Teatro Juarez. I will honestly say this ticket was my splurge because it is in the Teatro (which is one of the prettiest buildings I have seen in a while, it looks as if it was transplanted from Paris right here to GTO), and it is one of the events from the invited Country. I know this is a once in a lifetime experience and we are both looking forward to attending. Ha the best part is we get to dress up because it is in the Teatro!

I lost my debit card lol I know clumsy Megan. But besides for that little slip up, life has been going well for me and everything is in order. I am at the halfway mark of my trip and I CAN’T believe it, it doesn’t feel like it has been that long, but I guess it has.

I am starving world, by the way lol. The food here is good but sometimes you just want a bowl of spaghetti or Zaxby’s ha-ha.

I miss everyone so much and love hearing about what’s going on. Sometimes I can be a bit slack about phone calls but I’m doing better I DOUBLE PROMISE!

Keith - Good luck this weekend at the championship game. I know you’ll “do work” Si se puede!! (Translate it if you want)

The Parents - Thanks for ha like everything, and I miss you folks. I’ll even admit to thinking about living at home for 2nd semester lol.

Linda - Call me back sometime helloooooo

EVERYBODY - As I always say, money, packages, emails, phone calls, visits are all wanted and needed! VEN ACA!!

Till the next time,
Megan E.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb