Fresh Zaragosa Air.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Durango
October 31st 2008
Published: October 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

RosesRosesRoses

Roses for my momma.
Horses. Cows. Pigs. Chickens. Mexican cowboys. Gun fights. (Ok, no gunfights.) Farmers. Beer. Peace. Fresh air. Simple life. Ahh yes, I made it to Zaragosa! Zaragosa is a small pueblo where my mom was born and raised. It is very small with a simple way of life. My family and I last traveled here back in 2005 to spread half of my mom's ashes in the fields where her and her family farmed beans and corn when she was younger. That was one of her wishes. She had fond memories of working the fields with my grandfather and my aunts. We spread the other half of her ashes in the Franklin Mountains in El Paso, TX. Some of the lands in Zaragosa were purchased by my mom and dad, which are still owned by my dad and currently farmed by my uncle and cousins.

My family was happy that I came for a visit. When I first arrived here my uncle and my cousin Esteban took me to a "coliadera". First time I've heard of it and first time I've seen one. Dudes on a horse chase a cow, grab it my it's tail and trip it. The shorter the
ColiaderaColiaderaColiadera

Mexican cowboy getting a hold of the cow's tail.
distance you get it done the better. Who invented this game?? It was cruel to watch. My cousin Christian took part in it. The rest of us just watched and got drunk. (After a few beers.)"Yeah! Take that you shhtupid cows!!"

I arrived in Zaragosa during the season when my family work on the farm. I worked the fields with my uncle and cousins harvesting beans for the few days I was in town. I wanted to help them out and see for myself what the work is actually like. This shit was tough! Now I have a lump on my forearm and my back feels like that of an 80 year old. I think the lump on my arm is just a knot of muscles. I'm having a hard time grabbing things with my hand. Brushing my teeth is painful....even typing on my laptop hurts. My back is just sore, but it's getting better unlike my arm.

I climbed the Cerro Bola which is the mountain next to Zaragosa. There's a huge cross at the top. It was peaceful and beautiful up there. I fell on my ass on my way down. Didn't hurt anything.

I
Tio JuanTio JuanTio Juan

This is my uncle Juan (white shirt). 88 years old and still works and parties like a champ!
had a great time in Zaragosa. My family here also spoiled me with tons of food. I love coming here and I hated to leave. Being here is unlike any other place I've been to. I always feel at ease and tranquil here. There is no stress at all in these parts. It's country living at it's best. My family didn't want me to leave especially my cousins.....probably cause I was helping in the fields.

I'm off to Morelia and Patzcuaro for Dia de los Muertos (Day of The Dead). I keep hearing that it's a whole different world over there during that celebration. Very curious to see.

Alright peeps, stay true and keep it real.

peace out!
alex


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

ColiaderaColiadera
Coliadera

Beautiful backdrop. This was the town of Panoco.
CousinCousin
Cousin

My cousin Christian with his girl. Atta boy!
CousinCousin
Cousin

My cousin Esteban.
ColiaderaColiadera
Coliadera

Rounding up the cows.
Señor EdSeñor Ed
Señor Ed

"hey...hey buddy.....what you got there?"
EstebanEsteban
Esteban

Cousin Esteban running his John Deere.
CookoutCookout
Cookout

My cuz Juan making some carne asada.
SnakeSnake
Snake

Out in the fields you gotta watch out for rattlesnakes. Here's one.
SnakeSnake
Snake

My cuz Tacho killing the snake.
CampesinoCampesino
Campesino

Me working the bean harvest.
GrubGrub
Grub

Tacho heating up the campesino grub.
CampesinosCampesinos
Campesinos

Lunch time.
Still WorkingStill Working
Still Working

My uncle is 88 years old and still working.
Cerro BolaCerro Bola
Cerro Bola

I climbed to the top of this mountain.
Cerro BolaCerro Bola
Cerro Bola

About halfway up.
Cerro BolaCerro Bola
Cerro Bola

At the top.
Cerro BolaCerro Bola
Cerro Bola

Enjoying the scenery on my way down the mountain.
Cerro BolaCerro Bola
Cerro Bola

Wildflowers on the mountain.


Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb