Welcome to the jungle


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chiapas » Palenque
September 24th 2011
Published: September 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Left Merida and arrived at jungle. Checked into a hostel that was made up of a bunch of very simple cabañas, with walls up to the waist then mesh the rest of the way. So i started closing the curtains to get some privacy, so no one could watch me pick my nose or scratch my bottom. Then what did i see sitting there on my curtain.... a big hairy tarantula looking spider. I almost pooped myself. I didnt know what to do.. so i left if for the time being and went on a monkey hunt. Didn't have to look far, as right outside my cabaña in the trees there were heaps of these little howling apes, climbing from tree to tree. That helped me forget about the spider in my room.
Anyway.. fear got the better of me and i had the hostel guy remove the spider for me... he was actually pretty scared of it too (but i needed it gone so i could sleep).
At 2am i got a wake up call with a big roar outside my room, again almost pooping myself i thought there were two jaguars outside fighting.. then more and more started up..
Howling apeHowling apeHowling ape

Just outside my room
for me to realise it was the howling apes. This went on for about 20mins, and i finally dosed off after only to be woken up again at 7am, by yep.. you guessed it the howling apes.
These experiences with the wildlife made me realise that 'yup, im a city girl'.
Went to the Palenque ruins, which were built by the Mayan around 100bc. They were really amazing, i had saved these ones till last, and i am glad i did. They were set in the jungle, with a few pyramids and other buildings, some with trees growing over them etc.
After a few hours walking around the ruins, we (the tour i was on) headed south to see a few waterfalls, Mishol-ha and Agua azul.
Mishol-ha was a high waterfall with a path leaded behind it, was pretty cool, though i wouldn't go right along the path, people were coming out so soaked and in this heat and humidity i would never have dried off. Agua azul is suposed to, as the name would suggest, be brilliant blue waterfalls that were great for swimming. However as it has been rainy season they were more like agua 'cafe/toilet'.
After my excursions around the waterfalls i headed off further south to San Cristobal for my next adventures. This city girl couldn't take another night in the jungle with big hairy spiders and apes that never shut up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



26th September 2011

Yes, and a hoot, too. Keep writing. ~eric.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb