A curious coyote.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California » Mexicali
October 31st 2008
Published: October 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

A curious coyoteA curious coyoteA curious coyote

watching me with interest.
La Rumerosa, 07-10-2002.

The sand track I'm on goes up and down hills of avarage heights. I've to push my bike since cycling is out of the question due to the enormous amount of small rocks and stones that cover the path.
I'm surrounded by a sur-realistic landscape, huge weirdly shaped granite boulders are all around me reminding me of my time in Hampi in India. Organ pipe cacti and barrel cacti, strangely formed cirio trees and yucca bushes add to the scene.
Road runners do honor to their name and cross the road in front of me, their long legs swiftly moving under their feathery bodies. A flock of black and white pelicans overhead flying in the direction of the coast.
Despite the intence heat and the hard work of pushing an overloaded bicycle up the hill I feel no rush or hurry to make it to La Rumerosa, if it wasn't for the bodily needs of rest, liquid intake and food necesities I could go on forever, be forever on this weird and strange mental high caused no doubt by huge amounts of adraline, peptomine and dopamine in my head.
Yeah, for all I know this sand track isn't even bring me back to the main highway between Tijuana and Mexicali, I might very well be getting lost and on the road to nowhere....not a good idea since I'm out of water, out of food - ate the last of last night's bas for breakfast this morning - and, worst of all, out of beer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Making it to the top of this nutty hill I see a coyote at the side of the path just mere meters away from me and watching my efforts with curious eyes probably wondering what poor me, this crazy gringo from the other side of the world is doing here all doped up by natural bodily produced chemicals in my skull, clothes soaked by perspiration, huge drops of sweat rolling down my face.
I ignore this animal and concentrate me eyes on the valley beyond the hill....far down there in the valley I can see a silver line with small moving dots, a bit to the right and right on the track of this silver line, I see a collection of toy houses, caravans and the like. I know I've made it, the silver line being the main highway with cars and the small hamlet of La Rumerosa to the right.

I still have quite a few kilometers to go but it will be downhill

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 79; dbt: 0.1335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb