Time to leave!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California » Ensenada
June 18th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I can’t believe I made it. My home for the next two months is going to be the Explorer. I love this ship. It’s big but not so big that I would be too overwhelmed. I am still a bit in shock that after months of planning we are finally here.

Sunday, around 9:30 am I got on a bus in San Diego with about 30 other students and we started to make our way to Mexico. The ship deported from Ensenada, Mexico, which is about and hour and a half drive south of the border. Just driving across the border was a bit of an eye opener. Within the first mile I could tell I was in a different country. The economic status of the country was apparent immediately. The houses were rundown and made out of any material that could be found. As we drove along side the border I could clearly see the difference. Looking down the mountain at the US I could see nice, new suburban homes. Looking up the mountain in Mexico it was shantytown after shantytown. The areas that we did drive through were along the coast, and so lots of construction. Within these small shantytowns were huge mansions that were being built. Very interesting I thought. Though if anyone is interested, you can purchase a new 3 bedroom house overlooking the water in Mexico for about 260K. Probably would be closer to 1 mil in the US, at least. Once we were all on the ship and situated, a couple of us went into town. I have to say that I had one of the best Margaritas I have ever had. We visited a couple of the little shops, but we were only there for about 2 hours before we had to get back on the ship.

So, now I’m living on the ship. I take 4 classes all the days that I at see. In my opinion they are some of the most interesting classes I have ever taken. My cabin is the size of a large closet. That’s ok though, I don’t spend much time there. Right now we are on our way to Acapulco, Mexico. Can’t wait!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

More Mexico!More Mexico!
More Mexico!

Time to leave.
Adios!Adios!
Adios!

Hopefully our ship has better luck!


24th June 2007

Add Dad
Dad is not recieving your travel blog. Please add him. noradoc@comcast.net I miss your voice! Love Mom

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb