Progress update/Rabid Grey Fox in park!!


Advertisement
Published: March 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Another day in the Baja..............Gorgeous today. Saw a whale in the bay here so that was pretty cool.

Yesterday I went to the vegetable and fruit market down at the neighboring RV park. Since I was early, the couple that does the market were still setting up the table and the scale. As the gal put up the scale, the indicator showed at 2 instead of 0. One of the guys waiting in line said, "Well, there you go. Two is the Baja zero!" Lots of laughs out of that one!

They boys worked Saturday and finally got the sombra finished--well there is some trim work to be done, but basically it is done. I have a list of "complete" and incomplete" work! We are so hoping for it to be done by next week. Today there were 2 guys doing the stucco-ing of the platform and the remaining posts and 3 were working on the sombra---one cut the sticks, the other one drilled them into the beams and Jose basically oversaw!!!

Our friends, Bill and Sandy, left. She was pretty sad to leave here but her hubby was itchy to travel again......

Then today(Monday), we got up and were waiting for the workers to come when one of the residents here came by and let us know that there was a grey fox, possibly rabid, in the park and to be aware. Of course, I was really surprised to hear this so I followed Eldon back and sure enough, under a Jeep was a little fox. Clearly something was wrong with him because he was lethargic and didn't appear to be afraid. He was definitely acting strangely, moving in small circles, shaking his head and drooling!!! Lots of the people in the park came by to see the little guy and others of us were taking pictures. The owner was told about the animal and he jumped back into his truck and called the police and left. We waited and waited for the policeman to show. Finally Eldon went on his quad to the police station and returned shortly to be followed by the policia. Of course, he did not speak English, so I was in charge of explaining this whole mess. His solution was to spray the animal with water and he would "just go away". Sounds like a logical Mexican solution. I further explained that the fox was likely rabid, showing symptoms, etc and that just letting him run around wildly could pose a dangerous threat to other animals and people and if left unchecked, there could be a rabies epidemic. He mulled that bit if information and then stated that he could not shot his weapon without authorization from his commander. So I looked at him, and said, "So, why don't you call him and get that authorization?" Then a lightbulb apparently went off and he went to his truck to call the commander. This officer was pretty young and I don't think he really wanted to hurt the animal. He came back w/ the authorization and then followed the animal up to one of the palapas on the front row. He did ask if anyone was in the house, so at least that was some forethought! I wasn't sure that I could stick around, but I didn't watch. The shots were enough for me. He shot at least 5 times. Surprisingly, there was little blood. Surely was a very beautiful animal.

That was the big excitment here.....................Then the workers did NOT show up........it seems that Isidro had to go to La
Truck......Truck......Truck......

I couldn't resist!
Paz to have a tooth pulled. I am going to be sure to ask to see the hole !!!! LOL. OH, well.....................Life in the Baja is never a certain thing!

All is well here and we are hoping all is well with you and yours...................


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Window art...Window art...
Window art...

This is the window that faces the bodega...not a pretty view, so I just put this on with water based markers.
My rag rugMy rag rug
My rag rug

Here is my first rag -- I had no rugs and could find none so this is the best I could do! Actually was pretty fun to may. Glue gun magic at its best!
My second Rag RugMy second Rag Rug
My second Rag Rug

Really "doing a Daisy" now!! I made this rug for the back bedroom using the shower curtain that was here before I replaced it and an old bedspread that was left here.


4th March 2008

Your place is shaping up great, like your rugs and window art! And such excitement..... I do feel sorry for the little fox, but he's out of his misery now. I cannot believe the Mexicans are really so dumb!!! Note the new email address.....I got tricked into a stupid thing and the junk mail was overpowering, so another change!
4th March 2008

Gulp!!!
Kath, I do not believe it. A rabid fox! If you didn't have the pics, I would not have believed it! I can't believe how brave you were to go out and take pictures of the take down!!!!!!!! We had a very windy day yesterday. It has never been that windy!!!!!!!! Cement is drying. Not much else. Be careful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sue
4th March 2008

we're back from Spain
Hi there not sure if comment made it as AOL decided to log off...so much for UK broadband... here's comment again ... hi there looks like you've been busy while we were away. Our Spanish friends live in the mountains , great views but very slow phone internet link.. Your place is looking fab. Videos are good, caught up now we're back on broadband. h'mm shame too about the fox but well spotted on who saw it and sad but best solution. Save any epidemics and tragedies on the RV site and local population.. What a star you are making your own rugs and the window art...well I'm impressed. Take care look forward to next instalment .....cheerio...Issy n Dave xxxxxx
5th March 2008

What the ???
I just talked with you, but I hadn't read the rabid fox adventure. I'm glad that you were there to interpret and have the police get the okay to destroy the fox, otherwise, it could have been a real health hazard. Too funny, though, because on the site below the comment section there is a Google ad for Canine rabies vaccine.........go figure, LOL!
6th March 2008

continuing amazement
Mom, I must say you are quite brave. Way to stick your neck out for the benefit of your faithful blog readers! But seriously, 5 shots? What type of ammo are they using down there? Is that a pellet gun he's packin?

Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb