The wind dies down.......Happy Leap Year!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California Sur
February 29th 2008
Published: March 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finally the wind has died down today and it was very warm!! I was able to get out and kayak again this morning but failed to see any marine life other than some flying fish! And the "aguas males" or jelly fish are beginning to make their appearance in the water! I never saw any at all last year but I guess that they can be rather bothersome.

Not much work was completed today.........it really does get frustrating. Today the excuse was that Isidro "forgot" his charger for his drill and was unable to complete the skirting around the trailer. Mike's drill was not "strong" enough. Then the sombra dudes showed up in a flurry and there was a lot of discussion and tools set around and then in another moment, they were gone!!!! They returned at 5 pm and asked if it was ok to work! So they threw up about 3 beams for the sombra and then left! We had left also before they finished so that was a perfect opportunity for them to leave. We went out to dinner w/ our neighbors who have sold their place. We are sad to see them go b/c they have been so helpful to us but the gal who bought the place is really nice too. We ate at a local here and had never been to this one. It was very nice, a bit “pricier” (we laugh at that) but good. It is funny b/c the “yups” would die rather than eat at a place like this, but if the restaurant is “avant guard” and has a classy reputation, they would be served the same food at very high prices and then would brag about their meal! The presentation of the meal was very nice too.

Last night Mike had a fun encounter at the shower room. As he entered the bath house, he had heard some “scuffling” noises and a woman’s voice. Low and behold, over the stall popped up a woman!! Apparently the couple was in a stall in the men’s room! Mike decided to go out and the man appeared and said, “It is ok” but Mike said, “No, I will wait for the woman to leave b/c I want to shower.” Shortly thereafter, the 2 left and Mike continued on his way to bathe. He was clearly upset about this but I just pooh-poohed
Iguana!Iguana!Iguana!

This little guy was watching the construction from the bodega wall next door!
it. I did know that the guy was the owner’s best friend so there would be an “excuse” about it. Our neighbor, Bill, witnessed the “activity” outside and was also a bit taken back. He said that he would report it to the owner. Next day, sure enough, Cesar, the owner ,came by to ask Mike about what had taken place. He seemed somewhat disturbed about the story, but later as I was walking down the beach, I saw the same man and woman on Cesar’s quad going down the beach. Somehow I doubt that he was chastised for his “bad” behavior”. Ah, well……

Today I made a rag rug out of old towels. I had all kinds of rugs to bring down, but as we repacked and repacked stuff before leaving, I had to decide what NOT to take thinking that I would be able to find the stuff down here! It took a little time but no sewing! Glue gun magic at its best!

I also have a rear window that faces the brick wall of the bodega. Not very attractive, so I drew some foliage and bamboo to give it a “better view”. I am no artist, but it is better than a brick wall. Plus. I like having some projects to do. Since we have to hang out here to supervise, might as well have something to do!

WE just want the construction to end SOON!





Advertisement



1st March 2008

HI!
I liked seeing the the progression on the sombra and bodega. I know you have to be getting tired of all the construction. The cement was completed around the pool today. It looks so much better than dirt!!! Hang in there. Remember, these are your people whom you love!!! LOL Sue
2nd March 2008

Mike and the shower thing
Close enough!!!!
3rd March 2008

Shower anyone?
Loved the story about the shower.........an adventure at every turn. Glad you're keeping busy with projects, but I can only imagine that the ongoing construction must be a hassle. Hopefully it's completed before April, LOL!
6th March 2008

wow...
I couldn't stop laughing about the description of the "shower incident". If only to have a picture or Dad's reaction would be absolutely priceless. I don't know what else to say...

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb