Days 27 & 28: Halifax


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
August 19th 2014
Published: November 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Halifax dying for some fresh seafood. Newfoundland had not been kind to me food-wise, with most seafood being deep fried and vegetables being a rarity. I had some spectacular meals in Halifax, including sashimi, lobster and scallops. I really liked Halifax, it was a quaint city rich in culture. It's a place where I could potentially see my living. It reminded me of a little Sydney, Australia. My most memorable experience in Halifax was my morning of surfing in Lawrencetown, a 40 minute drive outside of Halifax. This would be the second time I ever surfed, with my first time being in Australia. The water was definitely colder and a wet suit was necessary. My instructor was really good and I was (somewhat) getting the hang of it, as I was able to stand and ride small waves. The weather was rough, as a storm was rolling through, but it actually enhanced the experience since the waves had a little more power, making it easier to surf. The next day I visited the famed Peggy's Cove, which was by far the most touristy place I had visited my whole trip. Nonetheless, it was really beautiful. It looked like a staged or movie set version of an East coast harbour, complete with lighthouse and lobster traps.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb