Days 29 & 30: New Brunswick


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
August 21st 2014
Published: November 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

From Halifax I headed towards Moncton, NB to see the famed Hopewell Rocks. They are known to have one of the highest tides in the world, on average being 35ft. I arrived in the afternoon, during low tide, where I was able to walk around on the sea floor. You had to keep your eye on the time because there were certain points that became impassable if the tide rose too much, making it impossible to get back. As a result, there was a platform constructed in case of emergency for any tourists who became stranded. You really have to see the tides for yourself, as I noticed a change in the tide height in only the hour I spent during my short walk around. I slept at a campsite nearby, which was thankfully next to a lobster shack and I indulged in another lobster roll for dinner. The following morning I went back to the rocks, this time as part of a kayaking tour. The early morning hours provided the highest tide at this point in the year. It was incredible to paddle through the area I had just walked through a mere 12 hours earlier. Certain arches soared over me as I had walked on the sea floor, though now I barely squeezed beneath the rock and the water in my kayak. I tried to take as many pictures as possible to demonstrate the difference, though like I said previously it's something you need to see for yourself. After the tour I made my way across New Brunswick to St. Andrews, which hugs the border between Canada and the United States. I took a ferry from St. Andrews to Deer Island to better explore what New Brunswick had to offer. From Deer Island you could easily swim across to the states. The islands in this area were very beautiful and serene. On the mainland, just outside of St. George, I stopped for some delicious blueberries. These were the proper, small blueberries, which you never see nowadays amongst the giant, grape sized blueberries found in the supermarket. On my way out of St. Andrews I stopped in Hartland to see the Hartland Bridge, which is the world's longest covered bridge. There was only one lane, so you had to wait your turn to go. It was a little gimmicky, but worth a stop.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.344s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0878s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb