The Klondike!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon » Watson Lake
November 3rd 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Internet access has been spotty while visiting friends the last little while, in the sense that I've been too busy having fun to post to the blog.

However, now that I'm back on the road all that has changed. Today was an absolutely epic drive from Vanderhoof, BC (just west of Prince George) to Watson Lake up in the Yukon. Suffice to say that the drive across the Yellowhead to Smithers was peachy, but half way up the Cassiar in the middle of no-man's land things started to get interesting.

My lasting impression/description of the upper portion of the Cassiar
- long (500 km)
- right through mountains
- twisty switchbacks with hairpin turns
- gravel surface
- snow covered
- desolate
- gas stations closed at 6 pm, used the 60 liters i had in jerry cans
- food and hotels were also closed
- pass one southbound car every 150 km
- sunset at 4:30, but thank God for a bright full moon. it was honestly brighter than the sun
- averaged about 60 km/h

BUT, I'm in Watson Lake now. I pulled in around 1 in the morning safe and sound, and now that I'm in the hotel I'm about to crash. I'll write more about this crazy drive later on.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb